Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Very tasty. I modified as shelteredrose suggested and used butternut squash instead of eggplant. I only cooked it for 3 hrs on high, and that was plenty of time. My only complaint is that it was a tad too sweet for my taste as is (not sure if that might be the butternut squash?). I've had Moroccan cuisine before - nothing was ever this sweet. But it could just be that I've never had this dish. I ended up adding more lemon juice and salt near the end to cut back on the sweetness. Next time I may try with eggplant and see if that makes a difference, or a bit less fruit and/or cinnamon. Overall though, it was very good and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is an easy recipe and was well-received by my gang. CHANGES (1) Used 12 chicken "tenders" instead of the thighs. (2) Peel eggplant. Bet sweet potatoes would work well in this dish. (3) Altho I used apricots, peaches would work well. (4) Raisins are a fine substitute for cranberries. (5) no salt + 3 large cloves garlic, minced, for garlic salt. (4) 1 T chili powder and 1 T cayenne for cumin and ground black pepper. (5) I'll use 1 T ginger next time. 1 t cinnamon was ok. (6) Didn't layer but did give it all a stir before putting lid on. (6) Used 2 onions (not a change but some have commented it's "too onion-y." Since everything cooks down and softens a lot, 2 onions are no too many. (7) I needed some cornstarch mixed with water to thicken (about 1/4 cup); flour not enough. Added right to crockpot; no need to empty into saucepan and heat on stove to make cornstarch thicken sauce. (8) Son preferred his over rice. Will definitely be making this one again. mb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I made a lot of changes to suit our preferences. Turned out great and there are plenty of leftovers! Will definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Great dish! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This one was a true hit! I was looking for a way to clear out some items in the fridge, freezer and pantry and came across this recipe. The only thing I had to buy was the eggplant. I made the recipe as written - except that I used whole, bone-in chicken thighs (skin removed) - and it was delicious. My only comment is that the recipe says it serves 8. This is either optimistic or based on very light eaters. I served 5 adults and had less than a serving left over. I also made extra couscous for soaking up that incredible sauce. yum, Yum, YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steggysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Made as the recipe calls for except I used chicken breast. It turned out great! I'm not sure the carrots added anything to the dish so I may leave those out next time. The eggplant was cooked so long it melted in your mouth! Yum! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe - and boy did it smell incredible while cooking! Based on what I had onhand in the kitchen, I omitted the eggplant, substituted raisins for the cranberries and apricots, and added some potatoes. I also used one onion instead of two because after cutting up one, I thought the slow cooker looked 'oniony' enough. My only comment is that the dish tasted a bit salty for my liking, but that might have been because I didn't have enough lemon juice? On the other hand, my salt-loving husband thought it was just right and has urged me to try it with lamb next time! So there will be a next time!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very tasty and a little different. Freezes well too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Loved this - did some things differently, though. I only had bone-in thighs, so that's how I cooked them (just browned on each side). Also, left out the onions, cranberries and eggplant. Instead I added chickpeas, and a wedge of lemon at the bottom of the pot (alongside the chicken). Served over couscous - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made this as written with the addition of chili paste and fresh ginger. I still found it to be bland and in need of salt. It wasn't bad, but it just didn't stand out to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States