Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Oh my goodness, this was incredible. I've made it two weeks in a row, which is unheard of in our house! I cut down on the chicken a bit, and added extra carrots. I bet you could even cut the chicken out completely and it would still be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This is the first time I have ever tried tagine and the first time I have used a slow cooker. Apart from adding a little paprika, slightly less cumin (as I sometimes find cumin a bit overpowering) and dropping the egg plant as recommended by others I followed the recipe to the letter. This was delicious, there is a just a slight sweetness from the fruit and the touch of tomato paste, along with the lemon juice and ginger gives a great balance of flavour, this has been added to my recipe book and will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickey Dee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morecambe, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is a very tasty dish. I don't usually like any sweetness in my main meal, but this was fine. My wife also liked it but the kids weren't as keen. The only changes made were: breast instead of thigh; tomato passata instead of paste. We needed about double the couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rsquared1769
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
It turned out very well. I skipped the ST step and placed frozen chicken breasts, and cubed eggplant directly into the slow cooker. This is the ST time I have ever eaten eggplant. Not sure if it adds a whole lot to the dish because it seemed somewhat flavorless. I also used frozen sliced carrots instead of fresh carrots. I would like to give this dish a 4.5/5 because it is pretty flawless, but not a mind blowing 5/5. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rsquared1769

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Park Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this dish without any ingredient modifications. This was delicious. My husband however thought it was just "ok". Three hours tops on high in our crockpot was long enough cooking time. Any longer and the carrots would have been mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious recipe! I ended up making double the broth, since it seemed a little thicker than I was hoping for. It turned out great when I did this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Too strong in the spice department for my family. I'll try 1/2ing the spices next time because it did have a unique flavor we all enjoyed. I didn't like the fruits, and I added the eggplant at the end like someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I fixed exactly as the recipe called, and it was a big hit with my entire family. This says alot since my husband is a french chef. I love it when I can find a tasty dish that also presents well. My husband is so much into the presentation of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Excellent flavour ! Added a little Cayenne and some Morrocan spice and everyone loved it. They even liked the couscous which I hadn't made before but it went very well with this dish. Cooked it on high for 4 hours and that was definitely long enough. Next time I'll add the egg plant near the end as it of course turned to mush after 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was excellent. I made it exactly as written. The only thing I would do next time is increase the amount of couscous to 2 cups or substitute it for brown rice. Loved loved the flavors. Nice healthy one pot meal. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States