Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I made this dish without any ingredient modifications. This was delicious. My husband however thought it was just "ok". Three hours tops on high in our crockpot was long enough cooking time. Any longer and the carrots would have been mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious recipe! I ended up making double the broth, since it seemed a little thicker than I was hoping for. It turned out great when I did this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Too strong in the spice department for my family. I'll try 1/2ing the spices next time because it did have a unique flavor we all enjoyed. I didn't like the fruits, and I added the eggplant at the end like someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I fixed exactly as the recipe called, and it was a big hit with my entire family. This says alot since my husband is a french chef. I love it when I can find a tasty dish that also presents well. My husband is so much into the presentation of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Excellent flavour ! Added a little Cayenne and some Morrocan spice and everyone loved it. They even liked the couscous which I hadn't made before but it went very well with this dish. Cooked it on high for 4 hours and that was definitely long enough. Next time I'll add the egg plant near the end as it of course turned to mush after 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was excellent. I made it exactly as written. The only thing I would do next time is increase the amount of couscous to 2 cups or substitute it for brown rice. Loved loved the flavors. Nice healthy one pot meal. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Andover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Very tasty. I modified as shelteredrose suggested and used butternut squash instead of eggplant. I only cooked it for 3 hrs on high, and that was plenty of time. My only complaint is that it was a tad too sweet for my taste as is (not sure if that might be the butternut squash?). I've had Moroccan cuisine before - nothing was ever this sweet. But it could just be that I've never had this dish. I ended up adding more lemon juice and salt near the end to cut back on the sweetness. Next time I may try with eggplant and see if that makes a difference, or a bit less fruit and/or cinnamon. Overall though, it was very good and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is an easy recipe and was well-received by my gang. CHANGES (1) Used 12 chicken "tenders" instead of the thighs. (2) Peel eggplant. Bet sweet potatoes would work well in this dish. (3) Altho I used apricots, peaches would work well. (4) Raisins are a fine substitute for cranberries. (5) no salt + 3 large cloves garlic, minced, for garlic salt. (4) 1 T chili powder and 1 T cayenne for cumin and ground black pepper. (5) I'll use 1 T ginger next time. 1 t cinnamon was ok. (6) Didn't layer but did give it all a stir before putting lid on. (6) Used 2 onions (not a change but some have commented it's "too onion-y." Since everything cooks down and softens a lot, 2 onions are no too many. (7) I needed some cornstarch mixed with water to thicken (about 1/4 cup); flour not enough. Added right to crockpot; no need to empty into saucepan and heat on stove to make cornstarch thicken sauce. (8) Son preferred his over rice. Will definitely be making this one again. mb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed this dish. I made a lot of changes to suit our preferences. Turned out great and there are plenty of leftovers! Will definately make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Great dish! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States