Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My husband and I LOVE this recipe. I make it with chicken breasts as we don't like dark meat, but otherwise exactly as written. If you like that slightly sweet, fruity main dish with the Mediterranean spiciness unusual to the Western palate, you will love it! So easy too-put it in the crockpot before work and when you get home you can make the couscous in 5 minutes. This and a glass of milk is all you need for a healthy filling supper. Keeps great in refrigerator or freezer for leftovers. For some other perspectives, my college daughter said it was "OK" and my 8 year old granddaughter said "good" (and ate her whole bowlful).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Loved this and so does friends and family I have served it to. I followed some other reviewers suggestions and did not use eggplant, I have used butternut squash or yam instead with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I have never had anything like this, but had produce from the garden I had to use up. I followed the recipe exactly, except subbed raisins for cranberries. It rocked. This is a keeper. Easy, warming, comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
My husband didn't like this, but I LOVED it. I was happy, because that meant more leftovers for me! Delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
After reading others comments, I left the chicken thighs whole, browned them in a deep electric frying pan; removed them and sauteed the eggplant and onion. I added a pinch of cloves, and a pinch of cayenne pepper, and I cooked the whole thing in this electric fryer at about 275 degrees (Simmer temperature). In just under 3 hours, the meat was tender, vegetables were cooked and it wasn't soupy - it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Used cranberries instead of raisins. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Excellent chicken! I put whole semi-frozen boneless thighs in the crockpot as they were going to be in for at least 6 hours. Served over rice as I had no couscous. Next time I would enjoy more apricots, but the seasonings were spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
yum! perfect! seved it for company. we used raisins instead of cranberries, & threw in the eggplant and chicken raw. we added 1 cup water and used 4 chicken breasts. tasted like a sweet, healthy bbQ alternative to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Fabulous! I cut the spices a wee bit, since I was serving to a little one. Also added about a quarter cup of water and used dried mango in place of the apricots, since I didn't have any on hand. Delicious, and even the 20 month old asked for more! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I adapted the basic recipe to meet with what I had in my pantry/refrigerator. Also as I wanted a quickly made meal I made it as a casserole which I cooked at 375 for 35 minutes. I used leeks instead of the onion, and didn't have the eggplant. As my sister had said the cranberries were too sweet when she made the recipe I substituted currants, and also left out the carrots. I used fresh garlic which I sauteed with the leeks. Very delicious result. I'll try the slow cooker next time to compare results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Honey-Garlic Slow Cooker Chicken Thighs

Easy recipe for tender, sweet and savory chicken thighs.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States