Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
The flavors in this are really nice. Kind of mellow, but great. I made changes out of necessity, but am reviewing it anyway to share my experience. I made this on the stovetop instead of the crockpot because I had the luxury of being home (and didn't feel like washing two pots). After browning the chicken, I just threw in the onion to brown in the same pot, and then threw in the spices to toast a bit. After that, I dumped all the rest of the ingredients in. I left out the eggplant because we didn't have any and made up for it by adding more carrots, but I didn't change any of the spices. The smell in the house was just divine! I let it simmer until dinner (a few hours), but I was salivating the whole time. It tasted as great as it smelled. I served it with white jasmine rice, but I think basmati or couscous would have been a better choice. The hubby loved it -he commented on how great it smelled as soon as he walked in the door. and it was a hit with my 20 month old! She kept asking for more.... Great dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Lam-Himlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I made this for company and got great results. The flavors of this were wonderfully complex and satisfying. I did make some substitutions though. I didn't have chicken on hand, so used boneless pork chops. And I also didn't have any cranberries. Next time I make this I'll be sure to add the cranberries. The only reason it's not getting 5 stars is I tried the leftovers with a little sour cream and it really smoothed out the flavor combination. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shellymayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Very good...Nicely innovative for those of us with out the pricey Tagine pot. We hate eggplant at my house and since everyohne said it cooked down to nothing, I just didnt see a reason to add the slimey gook to the recipe. I used a large butternut squash instead--peeled, seeded and cut in one-inch cubes. It was probalby about 3-4 cups total. Everything else I kept the same. 5 Hours on high was way too long, as pretty much everything turned to mush, but the flavor was out of this world. The seasonings were spot on. Next time I will use real garlic, not garlic-salt, and will add less broth/liquid. It was on the wet side. I think I'll also try cooking this in my dutch oven in the oven as I think that it would benefit from some caramalization. Thank's for a tasty suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Liked this recipe, we used bone-in breasts and added a little more tomato sauce and chicken broth, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLEE01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Good recipe, maybe next time I'll add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I thought this turned out great - much more interesting than the the typical slow cooker recipes. I used frozen chicken breasts and shredded it into big chunks at the end. The chicken was delicious, super moist. I left out the fruit and adjusted the sauce a little to my taste (more cumin, fresh ginger, etc.). It's a great base, I think it would be hard to mess up. (And trust me I know how to mess up a recipe.) I served with brown rice and thought the leftovers were even tastier since the flavors seemed to blend even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
We really liked this recipe, with some changes. My husband dislikes eggplant, so we cut it out and didn't miss it. We try to eat mostly vegetarian, so I used vegetable broth and exchanged a big garnet yam for the chicken. Delicious!! The yam made it for sure - coming across a nice soft bite of yam was like finding a treasure! I also forgot to get apricots and used golden raisins instead, which plumped up really nice. I would recommend increasing the volume of broth until the layers are covered, or the top dries out. Also, 1 cup of couscous is barely enough for two people, so double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
i am a beginner, so i followed the recipe almost exactly. (crock pot 6 hours low, fridge a couple hours, crock pot low 2 hours - maybe not a good idea.) it was ok. where was the exotic? i didnt taste it. consider breast meat as the sweetness of the dish maybe gets a bit much w dark meat? i think a little pepper flake for spice would have been a great move. dont skip the couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roccie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
WHOA! This was really a delicious recipe! I added a tsp more of flour, a tablespoon of chopped fresh parsley just because I had it and a tsp of dried lemongrass. I had NEVER cooked with eggplant (they scare me) but was glad I did. I also cup up a couple white sweet potatoes and will do so next time. Go for it. Don't OVERCOOK it though. I served mine over brown basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza+Mum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
LOVED this! The smells were incredible when I got home from work. I did not precook the chicken. I didn't have apricots on hand but used cranberries and raisins. Also didn't have eggplant but put in mushrooms. Thickened up the sauce a little at the end with a roux. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

See how to make easy, slow-cooked chicken in a tangy adobo sauce.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

Chicken simmers with Indian spices in a creamy coconut milk and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States