Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Good recipe, maybe next time I'll add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I thought this turned out great - much more interesting than the the typical slow cooker recipes. I used frozen chicken breasts and shredded it into big chunks at the end. The chicken was delicious, super moist. I left out the fruit and adjusted the sauce a little to my taste (more cumin, fresh ginger, etc.). It's a great base, I think it would be hard to mess up. (And trust me I know how to mess up a recipe.) I served with brown rice and thought the leftovers were even tastier since the flavors seemed to blend even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
We really liked this recipe, with some changes. My husband dislikes eggplant, so we cut it out and didn't miss it. We try to eat mostly vegetarian, so I used vegetable broth and exchanged a big garnet yam for the chicken. Delicious!! The yam made it for sure - coming across a nice soft bite of yam was like finding a treasure! I also forgot to get apricots and used golden raisins instead, which plumped up really nice. I would recommend increasing the volume of broth until the layers are covered, or the top dries out. Also, 1 cup of couscous is barely enough for two people, so double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
i am a beginner, so i followed the recipe almost exactly. (crock pot 6 hours low, fridge a couple hours, crock pot low 2 hours - maybe not a good idea.) it was ok. where was the exotic? i didnt taste it. consider breast meat as the sweetness of the dish maybe gets a bit much w dark meat? i think a little pepper flake for spice would have been a great move. dont skip the couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roccie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
WHOA! This was really a delicious recipe! I added a tsp more of flour, a tablespoon of chopped fresh parsley just because I had it and a tsp of dried lemongrass. I had NEVER cooked with eggplant (they scare me) but was glad I did. I also cup up a couple white sweet potatoes and will do so next time. Go for it. Don't OVERCOOK it though. I served mine over brown basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza+Mum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
LOVED this! The smells were incredible when I got home from work. I did not precook the chicken. I didn't have apricots on hand but used cranberries and raisins. Also didn't have eggplant but put in mushrooms. Thickened up the sauce a little at the end with a roux. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Different flavors but good. The apricots and cranberries add a lot. I used frozen chicken breasts and shredded them in the last 30 minutes. I used sweet potatoes instead of eggplant. Served over Couscous this is a different and good dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Very good but too sweet for my taste. Two onions seemed extreme. Really glad I only used one. Great with couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
My husband and I loved this recipe. I did add some hot pepper flakes to add a bit of spice. I don't think I had enough onions or carrots, but the recipe turned out great. This is a definite repeat for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was a nice dish, though the flavor can be a bit overwhelming--the dried fruit became very syrupy and mushy and the dish was more gooey than I expected, but the flavoring is exotic and goes really well with the couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States