Chicken Tagine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe was great. I did, however, add a bunch of ingredients to make it more like tagines I've loved. I added: a can of artichoke hearts, the rinds of the lemon (left whole, removed before serving), 1 1/2 cups of pitted olives, and I doubled the lemon juice. I also added 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander and a few shakes of red pepper flakes. Oh and I used pork chops because that's what I had. Next time I'll also add a can of chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
very tasty. was able to freeze half for another night. probably don't need to brown the chicken or eggplant but will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made this exactly as stated aside from adding the eggplant 1 hour before the end, and served with plain couscous. It was very hearty and satisfying. I could see the case for making it spicier but we enjoyed it just as it was. I will make this again, for sure, it's a winner. The cranberries and apricots really lend well to it, I would recommend not skipping out on them. I cooked on high, which for my slow-cooker is a 4 hour cycle, so the vegetables still had some crunch to them. Good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This came out beautifully! I browned the chicken in a dutch oven, then tossed in everything else (minus the tomato paste, which I didn't have, and the eggplant, which I detest with a fiery passion) and cooked over low-medium for a few hours. Chicken was flavorful and moist! We had this over M'hamsa couscous and loved it. The leftovers were equally tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I made this for a company potluck, and everyone loved it! It was pretty easy to make and it came out great. Everything was tender and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
We did not like the flavor of this dish. Just a personal opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I can only give four because I changed to suit what I had on hand - DELICIOUS!!!!!! I didn't have apricots so I used dried tart cherries - they were slightly sweet, about as sweet as apricots. I did add a little crushed pepper. Also, I felt it needed a little something, probably since I didn't have the apricots, so I added two tablespoons of jarred peanut satay sauce. It was outstanding! I did use chicken breast and cut each in half again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was delicious! I decided to add 1 sweet potato, a tsp of Turmeric, 1/4 tsp of Cayenne pepper, & 3 cloves of garlic. I sauteed the onions, garlic, chicken, and eggplant before placing in the bottom of the slow cooker. Then I topped with sweet potato and followed the rest of the recipe. I ate it with dirty brown rice, naan, and some plain yogurt. Very filling and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I loved this. The rest of my family was "eh." However, they're not very adventurous eaters, and since I'm the cook, I'm giving it 4 stars. I liked it enough to make again knowing I'm going to get complaints from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Found this had a bland flavour, substituted raisins for the cranberries. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States