Chicken Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this in the smaller crockpot yesterday for me. I used homemade taco seasoning and organic chicken broth. It was just what I needed. I portioned out the chicken for my chicken salad lunches for the week, then saved the broth in a seperate freezer container to use for taco soup at a later date. The great thing about this recipe, for me anyway, is that it does double duty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Good basic recipe for shredded chicken. Used boneless thighs. Just a tip: to save time when shredding chicken, just put it in your stand mixer and use the paddle attachment, it will be shredded in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This recipe is delicious and easy, especially on my student schedule! I made a couple changes and additions to mine. I also add anywhere from 1/2 to 1 cup of lentils in with the chicken as an additional healthy filler to compliment the chicken. I also added 1 can of drained corn kernels about 1 hour to 30 minutes before serving to get a vegetable in the meal. I also found that if you have less than 5-6 hours for preparation you can butterfly the chicken breasts and they will be done in only 3 hours. A new favorite for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was simple to make and very tasty! The family all loved it and definitely great for a slow cooker kind of a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Amazingly quick, easy and delicious. Used 5 bone-in chicken breast with the skin removed. Put it on high for about 4 hours. Used in burritos, nachos and enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I did make some changes. I used 2 pkgs of Chicken taco seasoning instead of reg taco & I added a can of Rotel. Served it on tortillas with cheese & sour cream. It was so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Very nice! I halved the broth and added a jar of salsa along with the taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My family LOVES this recipe!!! I add a can of rotels or fire roasted tomatoes (whichever I have or remember to pick up). I also double it because I make nachos with leftovers later in the week...AMAZING! Place your tortilla chips on a baking sheet/large pizza pan spread chicken on chips then top with cheese,bake at 350 for a few minutes until cheese is melted. Enjoy with your fav dipping sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I think this is a great base recipe. I added a can of salsa verde, cayenne pepper, ancho chile powder, and garlic to give it something extra. I thought the recipe was really good as is, but my boyfriend and I like a little more oompf. Definitely give it a try! The chicken turned out so juicy and tender and was easy to shred after just 3 hours on high. We'll be having this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I'm currently doing contest prep for a bodybuilding competition in November. Anyone who has done this knows how important chicken is, and how every calorie counts! This recipe is amazing for so many reasons!!! 1. I used organic fat free broth that only added 10 calories and no fat 2. I eat 1.5 pounds of chicken a day, and cooking it gets REALLLLYYY OLD, realllyyy fast. So I literally tossed 6 pounds in the slow cooker, adjusted the rest and went to bed, came back at 7 am with days worth of delicious food. 3. It adds so much flavor to the chicken us body builders usually miss out on because we are so restricted... I freaking love this, idk if I'll ever cook chicken another way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States