Chicken Taco Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this in the smaller crockpot yesterday for me. I used homemade taco seasoning and organic chicken broth. It was just what I needed. I portioned out the chicken for my chicken salad lunches for the week, then saved the broth in a seperate freezer container to use for taco soup at a later date. The great thing about this recipe, for me anyway, is that it does double duty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Good basic recipe for shredded chicken. Used boneless thighs. Just a tip: to save time when shredding chicken, just put it in your stand mixer and use the paddle attachment, it will be shredded in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This recipe is delicious and easy, especially on my student schedule! I made a couple changes and additions to mine. I also add anywhere from 1/2 to 1 cup of lentils in with the chicken as an additional healthy filler to compliment the chicken. I also added 1 can of drained corn kernels about 1 hour to 30 minutes before serving to get a vegetable in the meal. I also found that if you have less than 5-6 hours for preparation you can butterfly the chicken breasts and they will be done in only 3 hours. A new favorite for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was simple to make and very tasty! The family all loved it and definitely great for a slow cooker kind of a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I did make some changes. I used 2 pkgs of Chicken taco seasoning instead of reg taco & I added a can of Rotel. Served it on tortillas with cheese & sour cream. It was so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Amazingly quick, easy and delicious. Used 5 bone-in chicken breast with the skin removed. Put it on high for about 4 hours. Used in burritos, nachos and enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Very nice! I halved the broth and added a jar of salsa along with the taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My family LOVES this recipe!!! I add a can of rotels or fire roasted tomatoes (whichever I have or remember to pick up). I also double it because I make nachos with leftovers later in the week...AMAZING! Place your tortilla chips on a baking sheet/large pizza pan spread chicken on chips then top with cheese,bake at 350 for a few minutes until cheese is melted. Enjoy with your fav dipping sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I'm currently doing contest prep for a bodybuilding competition in November. Anyone who has done this knows how important chicken is, and how every calorie counts! This recipe is amazing for so many reasons!!! 1. I used organic fat free broth that only added 10 calories and no fat 2. I eat 1.5 pounds of chicken a day, and cooking it gets REALLLLYYY OLD, realllyyy fast. So I literally tossed 6 pounds in the slow cooker, adjusted the rest and went to bed, came back at 7 am with days worth of delicious food. 3. It adds so much flavor to the chicken us body builders usually miss out on because we are so restricted... I freaking love this, idk if I'll ever cook chicken another way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I think this is a great base recipe. I added a can of salsa verde, cayenne pepper, ancho chile powder, and garlic to give it something extra. I thought the recipe was really good as is, but my boyfriend and I like a little more oompf. Definitely give it a try! The chicken turned out so juicy and tender and was easy to shred after just 3 hours on high. We'll be having this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Easy Shredded Chicken Taco Filling

Perfect for Taco Tuesdays or any day of the week.

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

See how to make a quick, saucy shredded chicken filling for burritos and tacos.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States