Chicken Sweet Potato Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Really nice hash style recipe. Only thing I added was some spicy seasoning at the end. Do toast the hazlenuts.. there is a huge difference in thair flavor. Taste some untoasted and then toast some up... so much better toasted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Made this tonight on a whim to use some sweet potatoes I had. I used some drumsticks instead just because I had them and it was great. It was delicious! I would however make a few adjustments next time. I loved the pears and would add another. I would also double the spinach, since it cooks down so much. Other than that - fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I changed a few things... use apples instead of pears as that was all I had, used Jack Daniels instead of Irish Whiskey, walnuts instead of hazelnuts and used chicken boullion instead of just water. I also tripled the whiskey amount, as my husband and I both love the taste of whiskey and the dish was not overpoweringly whiskey tasting. It was perfect! Absolutely will make again, especially in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I hate when people rate recipes after they've altered it, but I'm sure the original is just as good, if not better, than the version I made. Based on what I had on hand, I used granny smith apples instead of pears, omitted the whiskey, and used toasted almonds instead of hazelnuts. It was delicious! Next time I will make it as written to see which version is better, but I'll leave the chicken out because I don't think it adds anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I doubled the recipe and used leftover cooked chicken. I even made sure to buy hazelnuts for this and toasted them which was very easy to do. This recipe was delicious and a good way of getting a lot of healthy items into my hubbys diet in one dish. Spinach cooked down so much that even more could be added without overpowering the taste of this lovely hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
All I can say about this is FANTASTIC! The only thing i did different was use applesauce instead of pears cuz i didnt have anything else bt it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
So flavorful and delicious. Used almonds instead of hazelnuts, added the chicken bouillon to the water and a lot of extra spinach....no other changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I also made it with apple and walnuts. Used dried sage, a pkg of frozen chopped spinach (thawed) and a whiskey liqueur. My husband raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I replaced the spinach with kale (all I had) and cut it into tiny pieces. It didn't effect it. I also used pre-cooked chicken meatballs (again, all I had) and my 16 year old daughter ate it and didn't complain. That's a plus! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My husband and I are about to endure a 30 day cut diet, so with a few modifications, this will be one of the recipes. I toasted slivered almonds, used ground sage (about 1 tbsp); used three thinned chicken breasts and substituted one apple (which will likely fall out once the diet starts, though shouldn't alter the taste greatly). Also, if you don't add some olive oil during the browning of the sweet potatoes, they will get destroyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States