Chicken Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I made it with "rice in a bag" and added it to the mushrooms and tomatoes. Simmered it with chicken for Added a little cayanne pepper to add heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This recipe is named correctly because it was a pleasant surprise. Like other reviewers, I added seasoning because I was afraid it would be too bland for us. So before sautéing the chicken with a little olive oil in the skillet, I sprinkled it with black pepper, seasoned salt, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and poultry seasoning. In addition, I used canned tomatoes with basil, oregano, and garlic. With these tweaks the recipe tasted great. It is so easy and is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
A quick dish that saved dinner in a pinch when I realized I didn't have the ingredients needed for the dinner I was GOING to prepare. It was OK but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
My husband and I both really liked this - it was much better than I expected, honestly, living up to it's name. I did use fresh mushrooms, and Italian Style Stewed Tomatoes. Also seasoned the chicken with Italian seasoning salt and a little garlic. I left out the bouillon/broth as I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This was a very quick and simple recipe. I had to use what we had on hand, but it turned out very yummy. I already had cooked chicken and cooked rice in the fridge. I put 3-4 cups of cooked rice in a pan, added 1 can of Golden Mushroom soup, diced cooked chicken, 2 cans of diced tomatoes (we like them), and let it simmer. The other reviews mentioned the dish needed some seasoning, so I added salt and pepper, and topped it off with a good bit of Lowry's Lemon Pepper (not lemon-pepper seasoning, per se, but the actual lemon-flavored pepper, if that makes any sense). All in all, it was great. It freezes wonderful, reheats like a dream, and fills up hungry folks without breaking the budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
It is good, though I followed the other reviewers and added a few more spices. Note that the recipe calls for INSTANT rice. There are other reviews telling you to add water. Only do that if you are NOT using instant rice. Instant needs a 1:1 ratio of water:rice whereas regular rice needs a 2:1 ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Used Campbell's Cream of Mushroom & Garlic, as well as a can of diced tomatoes "chili style." Added a bit more chili powder, also, as we're a fan of spice! Sauteed up some sliced mushrooms to add also, as we love mushrooms, and overall it was sooooo easy and got rave reviews from the 4 adult men in our household! Us gals thought it was ok. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I've made something similar to this before, and it's great. But I'm curious to know if part of this recipe is missing. It says to let the rice sit for 5 minutes, so I'm assuming that the recipe calls for minute rice or something of that nature. Either that, or it was supposed to be left for at least 20 minutes. Otherwise, you'll end up with crunchy, uncooked rice. Or is there something else that I'm missing here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
We thought this was really good. I did do the suggestions for adding some more spices to it. I added garlic, italian seasoning, and pepper. Then I added some parsley to the rice. I also sauted onions and carrots before the chicken. With what I added I would have given this a 5. We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This meal was quick, easy and pretty tasty. My kids ate it and my husband did too. The only reason I am giving it 4 stars is becuase I jazzed up the flavors with a little onion, garlic, and sauteed fresh mushrooms. After that, I would give it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States