Chicken Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This recipe is wonderful and so quick and easy to make. I did make some changes however. Instead of using the bouillon cubes I substituted 1 cup of low sodium chicken broth for 1 cup of the water used to cook the rice. I also added some black pepper, Italian seasoning and rosemary to the chicken while cooking. I also added 1 can of drained string beans for more vegetables. The taste was wonderful. Added bonus is the one dish meal makes for easier clean up! This will become a staple meal in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This was soooo good and definately a repeat meal. I changed it up just a little bit. I added some garlic salt, paprika, cajun and parsley to the chicken for taste. I then sauteed the mushrooms with the chicken. When I cooked the rice, I used 1 can of chicken broth instead of the cubes and an additional 2 cans of water. I also added some cooked broccoli to the mixture - but it didn't seem to make very much of a difference. I think it would have been great without. The only other thing I would change next time would be to make it a little bit spicier - maybe some currie or more cajun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This recipe was a great hit with teenagers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
a very tomato-ey dish.... must like tomatos (my personal favorites) ... i felt like it could have used something else ... maybe more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Surprisingly enough, I had made this before. My husband and my son (who is 6) really loved this. It was so easy to make and really good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This is a great family recipe that even my 3 year old devoured with relish. However,the original recipe is too bland (in my opinion) so I added in a pinch of paprika,thyme, basil and a good few grinds of black pepper. I also added half a red bell pepper as i had to use it up, but i think it added a nice extra flavour and texture to the whole dish. In future I'd put in some diced onion and a little garlic too I think. This is not quite a 5 star recipe as I had to add an extra can full of water with the tomatoes to give enough liquid for the rice to absorb. I will definitely be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
All in all we liked this recipe it was easy to make the only thing is we would have liked it to have a bit more flavor to it. We will eat again though for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
very good! easy to make, I added some mexican/southwestern spices and some green chili peppers and some cheese to make it a little different.. pretty good! It does need more spices, as recommended in some other reviews- garlic in the rice would be ideal! a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This recipe is named correctly because it was a pleasant surprise. Like other reviewers, I added seasoning because I was afraid it would be too bland for us. So before sautéing the chicken with a little olive oil in the skillet, I sprinkled it with black pepper, seasoned salt, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and poultry seasoning. In addition, I used canned tomatoes with basil, oregano, and garlic. With these tweaks the recipe tasted great. It is so easy and is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I made it with "rice in a bag" and added it to the mushrooms and tomatoes. Simmered it with chicken for Added a little cayanne pepper to add heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States