Chicken Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This recipe is wonderful and so quick and easy to make. I did make some changes however. Instead of using the bouillon cubes I substituted 1 cup of low sodium chicken broth for 1 cup of the water used to cook the rice. I also added some black pepper, Italian seasoning and rosemary to the chicken while cooking. I also added 1 can of drained string beans for more vegetables. The taste was wonderful. Added bonus is the one dish meal makes for easier clean up! This will become a staple meal in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This was soooo good and definately a repeat meal. I changed it up just a little bit. I added some garlic salt, paprika, cajun and parsley to the chicken for taste. I then sauteed the mushrooms with the chicken. When I cooked the rice, I used 1 can of chicken broth instead of the cubes and an additional 2 cans of water. I also added some cooked broccoli to the mixture - but it didn't seem to make very much of a difference. I think it would have been great without. The only other thing I would change next time would be to make it a little bit spicier - maybe some currie or more cajun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
It is good, though I followed the other reviewers and added a few more spices. Note that the recipe calls for INSTANT rice. There are other reviews telling you to add water. Only do that if you are NOT using instant rice. Instant needs a 1:1 ratio of water:rice whereas regular rice needs a 2:1 ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shera Jemmett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
The recipe is a bit short on water, not giving the rice enough liquid to cook. Adding an extra cup of water should do it. Also, instead of taking the pot out of the burner after adding the rice, simmer the rice instead until all the liquid has gone. I added stir-fried carrots and green peppers for more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This is a great family recipe that even my 3 year old devoured with relish. However,the original recipe is too bland (in my opinion) so I added in a pinch of paprika,thyme, basil and a good few grinds of black pepper. I also added half a red bell pepper as i had to use it up, but i think it added a nice extra flavour and texture to the whole dish. In future I'd put in some diced onion and a little garlic too I think. This is not quite a 5 star recipe as I had to add an extra can full of water with the tomatoes to give enough liquid for the rice to absorb. I will definitely be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
A quick dish that saved dinner in a pinch when I realized I didn't have the ingredients needed for the dinner I was GOING to prepare. It was OK but probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Used Campbell's Cream of Mushroom & Garlic, as well as a can of diced tomatoes "chili style." Added a bit more chili powder, also, as we're a fan of spice! Sauteed up some sliced mushrooms to add also, as we love mushrooms, and overall it was sooooo easy and got rave reviews from the 4 adult men in our household! Us gals thought it was ok. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This recipe was very easy...and good. However, I does require more seasoning, especially for the chicken. I sauteed the chicken and mushrooms together, added the tomatoes and served over rice. My brother, who is picky and never eats leftovers, had seconds and ate more the next day. This is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
a very tomato-ey dish.... must like tomatos (my personal favorites) ... i felt like it could have used something else ... maybe more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Surprisingly enough, I had made this before. My husband and my son (who is 6) really loved this. It was so easy to make and really good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States