Chicken-Stuffed Shells with Sherry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I used a rotesseire chicken breasts for ease. Rich and delish. This is probably the first recipe in the history of my all recipes that I will always make as written with out saying it could use this or that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I found the recipe a little bland, but every other family member loved this, so it's a keeper here. Some advice: oftentimes swiss cheese can be used in place of gruyere, and since the gruyere was expensive I decided to go this route. I used an inexpensive swiss and the flavor was too stong for this dish. Next time I will try either Cracker Barrel's Baby Swiss (which is hard to find and why I had to use a store-brand of block swiss) or spring for the Gruyere. I also used only button mushrooms, since I prefer those to shiitake. Finally, next time I make this, I'm going to cover the dish with foil after pouring the sauce over and baking since the sauce basically bakes away and/or "hardens" onto the pasta in it's half hour in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This came out very good with a few adjustments. First, I made this without the chicken & subbed Fontinella in place of the Gruyere. I added some red pepper flakes in with the garlic & since I omitted the chicken, the ricotta mixture seemed boring.. so I spiced it up a bit with some coriander, parsley, S&P, and a pinch of allspice. It gave the shells plenty of taste. I wouldn't change the sauce. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by cakesnthings
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was so good. I did some things different though. I boiled my chicken breast in lightly salted water with a bay leaf and a crushed garlic clove. Once it cooled completly I cut up the chicken in a fine dice. I also chopped up the mushrooms into smaller pieces. I added 2 cups of ricotta cheese and 1 tsp. of italian seasonings to the chicken/cheese mixture. Once it was combined well I put it in a pastry bag and used it to fill up the shells, much easier this way. It filled up 20 jumbo shells. I noticed that a lot of the shells broke, so I am glad that I cooked more than 8 oz. I would have like more sauce so maybe the addition of a cup of chicken broth would do the trick. Also, for the blandness, these stuffed shells taste great with a little spaghetti sauce drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesnthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was very good. But, it took me quite a bit longer than 30 minutes to get it ready for the oven. I also think it could have used a little more sauce. I will make it again but use more chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
The only mistake I made in attempting this meal was being overly ambitious on a weeknight - I was in the kitchen much too long tonight, but it was worth it. I bought the Gruyere, it was expensive but worth it, sharp and delicious - it does not taste like swiss cheese to me more a cross between swiss and sharp provolone. I too chose to use marsala wine instead of sherry, I think marsala is not as strong and the substitution was delicious. My sauce needed a lot of thinning from chicken stock, the roux stayed in roux form once i added the liquids slowly... it seized right back up. Delicious, even if it took a while and dirtied a lot of dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Beautiful dish! This would be great for company. I only used button mushrooms. I couldn't find gruyere cheese so I used a 5 cheese Italian blend. The white cream sauce was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I had such high hopes for this recipe. To put into family's words "not bad, but don't have to make it again". Which is fine because it really takes alot longer than thr 30 mins it says
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This was too much work, and too many dirty dishes for just an average recipe. Probably won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2000
Takes a little time, but what a very elegant and delicious dish! Perfect with a fresh salad & french bread I think! :) Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpotato
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States