Chicken-Stuffed Shells with Sherry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was restaurant quality! My husband said he would expect to see this dish on a high end restaurant menu; & he would think it would cost a pretty penny. I paired it with a spring mix salad & a garlic bread recipe I found on ths site. It is very time consuming to prepare, so I won't make this very often. Definately for special occasions or perhaps a romantic night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I used a rotesseire chicken breasts for ease. Rich and delish. This is probably the first recipe in the history of my all recipes that I will always make as written with out saying it could use this or that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
We enjoyed this, used marsala just what I had on hand, after reading the reviews I added a little extra wine. Turned out very good. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Delicious! I did use all of the reserved liquid from the mushrooms and chicken and ended up using more Gruyere to thicken up the sauce. I was advised by the "cheese lady" at my supermarket to use the Gruyere as it has a distinctive taste and melts well-I'm glad I did as it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETEANDKRIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Excellent. Everyone in my family loved it. Couldn't find jumbo shells at my supermarket so used manicotti instead. Still great. To cut down on prep time I cooked the chicken and mushrooms the night before and assembled everything the next day. I pretty much doubled the sauce used so it wouldn't dry out when baking, other than that I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I found the recipe a little bland, but every other family member loved this, so it's a keeper here. Some advice: oftentimes swiss cheese can be used in place of gruyere, and since the gruyere was expensive I decided to go this route. I used an inexpensive swiss and the flavor was too stong for this dish. Next time I will try either Cracker Barrel's Baby Swiss (which is hard to find and why I had to use a store-brand of block swiss) or spring for the Gruyere. I also used only button mushrooms, since I prefer those to shiitake. Finally, next time I make this, I'm going to cover the dish with foil after pouring the sauce over and baking since the sauce basically bakes away and/or "hardens" onto the pasta in it's half hour in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia_Marcia_Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Studio City, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
I dont think I liked this. Too much work for the result. The sherry was too strong and the stuffing was kind of bland to my surprise. Wont make again but thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by terka
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
this was great. it has a unique taste but i really enjoyed it (my partner didn't but she doesn't love mushrooms). also, the mushroom mixture had NO liquid left over!..at all. the 1/4 cup of sherry was such a tiny amount and the mushrooms just sucked it up and even after they were cooking there was none left. i also just used regular sherry instead of dry as that's all i had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This is a fantastic way to prepare stuffed shells. Rich and delicious. Time consuming (longer than prep time indicates)but worth all the compliments that come with this meal!! A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
This takes some time to prepare, but it is definitely worth it! It has excellent flavor and is very filling. I have made this twice and both times received compliments, just wanted to pass them along. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States