Chicken-Stuffed Shells with Sherry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Very good, very rich! Takes a little time to make but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was such a decadent treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Pretty good. Very rich- Different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Wow, this was really good! It was time consuming, but worth it. I made it on a weekend night, when I had a little more time. I pretty much made exactly as instructed. I used a little more garlic and cheese, just cuz I like it! I thought it might be a little too rich, so the last 15 minutes I topped dish with dollops of marinara sauce- oh maybe 1/2 cup toal. My sauce was really thick, so I think this helped from dish being too rich & dry. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillie64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
The only mistake I made in attempting this meal was being overly ambitious on a weeknight - I was in the kitchen much too long tonight, but it was worth it. I bought the Gruyere, it was expensive but worth it, sharp and delicious - it does not taste like swiss cheese to me more a cross between swiss and sharp provolone. I too chose to use marsala wine instead of sherry, I think marsala is not as strong and the substitution was delicious. My sauce needed a lot of thinning from chicken stock, the roux stayed in roux form once i added the liquids slowly... it seized right back up. Delicious, even if it took a while and dirtied a lot of dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I think what I like best about this dish is that it is a delicious almost "fancy" meal, that is still achievable. What I mean by that is that the ingredients aren't too far-fetched and while it is slightly time consuming, it's expected when making stuffed shells. I have to admit that I didn't follow the recipe to a T (I never do); I used Marsala instead of sherry... but I liked the basic concept. The first time around I had it as is, the second time around I poured a little bit of red sauce on top. Both ways was excellant - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This was too much work, and too many dirty dishes for just an average recipe. Probably won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by cakesnthings
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was so good. I did some things different though. I boiled my chicken breast in lightly salted water with a bay leaf and a crushed garlic clove. Once it cooled completly I cut up the chicken in a fine dice. I also chopped up the mushrooms into smaller pieces. I added 2 cups of ricotta cheese and 1 tsp. of italian seasonings to the chicken/cheese mixture. Once it was combined well I put it in a pastry bag and used it to fill up the shells, much easier this way. It filled up 20 jumbo shells. I noticed that a lot of the shells broke, so I am glad that I cooked more than 8 oz. I would have like more sauce so maybe the addition of a cup of chicken broth would do the trick. Also, for the blandness, these stuffed shells taste great with a little spaghetti sauce drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesnthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was very difficult to make and did not taste that great. I think the cheese I used may have been bad even though I paid top dollar for it at the organic food mart. I may try one more time with another brand of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This recipe was a little complex to assemble. Mushrooms, chicken and pasta and sauce were all cooked separately and then assembled before final baking. The result was a lovely combination of flavors. The baked shells have a bland appearance so I served them with braised asparagus and a fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States