Chicken Stuffed Peppers with Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Just great! Easy to make and hard to forget, you will want this again and again. The peppers I found were about 6 inches and that would have made 6 rather than the stated 4 peppers. The recipe makes quite a bit of sauce so if you also find smaller peppers I would half the sauce. And that sauce!!! Just delicious. Next time I will cut down the pepper a little as I used red chili pepper and I could tell my guests thought it a little too hot. One other thing, I found the recipe a little confusing about the amount of chocolate, but I used 2 squares of Ghiradelli b/s choc which was 1 ounce and it was absolutely perfect. Will make this again soon, thanks for a wonderul addition to the Mexican collection, Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Fabulous - even my two year old liked it. My peppers were long but narrow, so I used 8 and still had some extra filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Alright, I totally played around with this recipe which is most likely great on it's own. My rendition: I braised chicken in chicken stock with my own mixture of hispanic seasonings (added brasing liquid to sauce). I used Poblano chili peppers, although I roast em, then remove seeds/skins. Also, I omitted the crm cheese & used Pepper jack cheese in chicken filling mix. Instead of using all that chili powder in sauce; I used 1tblsp + 1 tblsp of cumin and a small can of salsa verde. Only used 2C of chicken stock as sauce quantity seemed excessive. I had dry cocoa powder so used 1/4 tsp of that. Used immersion blender to puree the sauce after it simmered for awhile. My twist - stuffed peppers & then wrapped in softened corn tortillas. I baked in oven like enchiladas (lightly sauced with Chihauhau cheese on top. OMG, I mean, OMG! Cool way to overhaul your typical chicken enchiladas if you want to try it. Sorry for messing with the original post but...I wanted to play with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cirruscaptain
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Amazing recipe. Instead of cooking the chicken in a skillet I cooked the chicken in the oven for 40 minutes then shredded it after it cooled. After I marinated the shredded chicken in the taco seasoning and water for 3 hours. It was exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious! My husband, a non-pepper-eater, even liked them and raved about the sauce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was wonderful! I baked the chicken instead of frying it in oil to lighten it up. I also Made my own enchilada sauce (not a fan of chocolate based sauce). It was extremely easy to put together and the results were outstanding...will be playing with the filling just for some intereting variations (chili verde perhaps). Thanks for the recipe will be enjoying this one over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Our kids LOVED this... ages 3-15. I halved the chili powder as our chili powder blend is very hot and with small kids, I didn't want it too spicy. We took another reviewers suggestion and dipped corn tortillas in the sauce and wrapped the chilies in the corn tortillas. We then put cheese on top and broiled it until the cheese melted. We will make this again! It was a good use of our abundance of anaheim chilies from the garden and the kids enjoyed stuffing the chilies. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent dish. We loved everything about it. I will probably go with unsweetened chocolate next time and a little more spice in the sauce. For the kids I put the stuffing into con tortillas to make enchiladas and they loved them, already requesting it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The recipe is great, but I didn't use cream cheese. If you don't want to use the peppers listed here you can use two green peppers cut in half. If you don't want it as spicy cut down on the chili pepper or increase the chocolate or do both. Overall this is a great dinner and the sauce is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I only had green bell peppers that needed to be used, but all of the rest of the ingredients. I cooked some rice, mixed it with a little bit of the mole sauce recipe, tossed with the chicken and cheeses, stuffed the peppers. Baked, then poured the sauce over top. Served with black beans. MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States