Chicken Stuffed Peppers with Enchilada Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Seriously. We ROLLED AROUND in this sauce. So delicious. We followed the recipe exactly...well, except for not having anaheim peppers...we just used regular bell peppers of varying colors, but honestly, so delicious and perfect for a cold December night. I might have used less chicken broth than intended, but it resulted in a beautiful, rich, deep sauce that would be delicious on dang near anything. This is DEFINITELY a keeper in the Kean household from this day forward...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Wow! Great flavors! I loved the mole sauce. I used white cheddar cheese because it is what I had on hand. Not sure how anyone can stuff that much stuffing into an anaheim pepper, so I split them open to stuff them. The peppers needed to be roasted and not just boiled though. They were not tender enough. I roasted mine a bit before splitting them open, which gave them a nice brown skin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Kids loved the chicken and peppers. Enchilada sauce was time consuming and not necessary. Easy directions to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Loved this recipe! My husband thought it could be a little spicier LOL but I loved it. The only problem I had was finding nice size Anaheim chili peppers. I did have left over stuffing because my Anaheims were smaller so I did stuff two smaller red bell peppers from my garden as well. The red bell peppers were good but the Anaheim had that extra flavor/spice. I wouldn't change a thing except add a little black or red pepper for my husband. I didn't find the sauce to be to runny like others - I think you just have to have the patience to let it thicken properly. Anyway - we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This recipe is awesome, one of the best meals my husband & I have made. Only thing we did differently was we used roasted poblano peppers cause the anaheim peppers were very small. We just put the poblanos in the broiler for a few minutes till they startered to blister, cooled then stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I only had green bell peppers that needed to be used, but all of the rest of the ingredients. I cooked some rice, mixed it with a little bit of the mole sauce recipe, tossed with the chicken and cheeses, stuffed the peppers. Baked, then poured the sauce over top. Served with black beans. MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocean City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The recipe is great, but I didn't use cream cheese. If you don't want to use the peppers listed here you can use two green peppers cut in half. If you don't want it as spicy cut down on the chili pepper or increase the chocolate or do both. Overall this is a great dinner and the sauce is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Excellent dish. We loved everything about it. I will probably go with unsweetened chocolate next time and a little more spice in the sauce. For the kids I put the stuffing into con tortillas to make enchiladas and they loved them, already requesting it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Our kids LOVED this... ages 3-15. I halved the chili powder as our chili powder blend is very hot and with small kids, I didn't want it too spicy. We took another reviewers suggestion and dipped corn tortillas in the sauce and wrapped the chilies in the corn tortillas. We then put cheese on top and broiled it until the cheese melted. We will make this again! It was a good use of our abundance of anaheim chilies from the garden and the kids enjoyed stuffing the chilies. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was wonderful! I baked the chicken instead of frying it in oil to lighten it up. I also Made my own enchilada sauce (not a fan of chocolate based sauce). It was extremely easy to put together and the results were outstanding...will be playing with the filling just for some intereting variations (chili verde perhaps). Thanks for the recipe will be enjoying this one over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States