Chicken Stuffed Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This is a good recipe to make with a kid - my little sister had fun mixing everything together and scooping out the buns. I would suggest decreasing the garlic - we all like it and it was still overpowering. Also, I used canned, diced chicken to speed things up some and it still tasted good (although I'm sure fresh would be better).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Very rich, but good. I did add a little minced onion and some Italian seasoning, and just a pinch of red pepper flake since I used plain Jack cheese. Will make these again and keep playing with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I have made these twice now, and we thought they were very tasty. I did make a few changes (left out the cream cheese, substituted brocolli for the spinach, added a can of cream of mushroom soup and used cheddar cheese instead of pepper jack, stuffed it all into hollowed out sub buns). They come out of the oven warm and gooey and taste delicious. Will be a regular recipe for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I thought this recipe was just okay. I followed the recipe and used several of the modifications that were mentioned in the other reviews, hoping to have a better outcome. It was very difficult to find the large sourdough rolls. I had to use bread bowls which were too big. I would agree with others that this would make a better appetizer. I don't think I would make it again because it's pretty time consuming considering the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
this was a little rich for me, the taste was great, hubby ate them up, but he thought the mixture would make better enchiladas than filling in a sandwhich so next time i'll try that- also it was similiar to the spinach dip recipes on this site, only not a dip but stuffed in a roll- will use the recipes again but i will try to add some sour cream and make enchiladas out of them--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
I couldn't find 6 buns, so I bought 3 large bread boules (there was only one sour dough boule, and the other two were marble). There are 3 of us, and as this was so filling we made 2 meals out of it. We thought it this was very tasty (including our 13 year old) and a twist on usual dinner entres. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Another great recipe from Rebecca! Since I was doing this for a group, I hollowed out a loaf of sourdough french bread and stuffed it. Because of the comments about garlic, I used 1T of Mrs. Dash Garlic/Herb Blend and finely chopped broccoli rather than the spinach. One half cup of diced green onion, and it was perfect! Several folks wanted the recipe. Thanks again, Rebecca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I'm only giving this 4 stars because hubby didn't comment on it. He ate it but he'll eat anything I put in front of him. I made it almost to a tee. About half the garlic as others said and it was plenty as hubbie isn’t a huge garlic fan anyway. I used soft hoagie rolls and they crisped up nicely in the foil. Even baking them for 30 minutes the cheese mixture was only warm, not hot and gooey like I was expecting. In fact I love all the ingredients in this especially the cheese, cheese and more cheese but it just didn’t have much pizazz. I cooked the cubed chicken unsalted in the microwave. The chicken cheese mixture seems quite dry and a real workout on the wrist to mix but once the cheeses are somwhat melted it is not dry tasting. I only made 2 buns so I have chicken cheese mixture leftover. I’m going to “kick it up a notch” as they say by salting it and maybe adding a little Frank’s red hot sauce. In the South here they always add “pepper sauce” to any type of greens. This is the vinegary juice from a jar of hot or mild peppers (banana peppers for example) depending on your taste. Since the frozen spinach tasted a little too—how can I put this—green and fresh , not completely cooked to a green stringy mush like canned-- I may add a few chopped pepper rings and a little “pepper sauce”. It might be good to mike this mixture to almost melting before putting it in the buns too. I probably won’t make this again but it was good for a try it once meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I loved this recipe!! I will add salt next time, maybe a little less garlic, as others have recommended. This is very, very rich though. I can't wait to bring it to the next party as an appetizer! (I will put it in one large sourdough loaf and use bread and crackers to dip)mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
I really liked this rich recipe. It was very filling- could only eat one!! i did think it was way heavy on the garlic. will try to scale that down next time if i make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States