Chicken Stroganoff II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
This is an excellent alternative to beef stroganoff if you don't eat beef. The tomatoe soup and the sour cream are a difficult mix to master even in the beef recipe. The mixture can't be too hot when you add the sour cream otherwise it causes the fat and the cream to seperate. If you take the pan off the burner and allow it to cool and then add the sour cream immediately before serving, it is well worth the trouble!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I read reviews and made changes- substituted cream cheese for sour cream, fresh chopped garlic for powdered garlic, olive oil for vegetable oil. I added 3T of Worcestershire sauce. Very delicious-pure comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bayers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I was looking for a cream based stroganoff recipe for chicken and I stumbled upon this recipe. I wasn't too crazy about the tomato soup so I used cream of mushroom instead and I added a 16 oz. container of sour cream. I served it over egg noodles and it was a hit! The onion soup made it taste a bit like onion soup dip and it makes your guests wonder what that delicious secret ingredient is. This modified version is going into my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This was really good and was a hit with the family, only thing I changed was I used 2 10 oz cans of the tomato soup insted of the 26 oz can. Next time I make it Im going to put in more mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Even my kids loved this. I did follow the recommendations from other raters and added worcestershire sauce, more mushrooms and used 2 regular cans of tomato soup. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
my family LOVED this!! great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This recipe is very good as it is. I added more mushrooms because I like them a lot. Other than that, this is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikuya Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Scaled the recipe back to serve two. My husband enjoyed this recipe very much. I liked it rather well, too, but thought the tang of the tomato soup was a bit much. I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned and tossed in a few grape tomatoes, simply because I had them on hand. I would make this again but will go lighter on the tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeLacy
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I thought initially that the recipe was basic so I changed it a little bit. I added spinach to the chicken, (10 oz. frozen chopped spinach). I added Mexican cheese, (handful), and 1 cup spaghetti sauce into the soup mix so it didn't taste like fry sauce. I used basil and garlic penne from pappardelle's pasta and whole wheat penne instead of egg noodles. Of course I added much more pepper. This made all the difference. The recipe was definitely a good base. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeLacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I loved my mother's beef stroganoff as a child but don't eat beef any more. I've tried several substitutes but haven't been satistfied. Until I tried this one! I loved it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States