Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Much better than store-bought. I added more water than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
i really enjoy the ginger in this chicken stock recipe, which is the one thing that really separates it from other chicken stocks i've made. i generally follow the recipe, except that i at least double the ginger, and i add more water (10 cups), too, because 7 cups for 4lbs of chicken (backs) seems too little. (and i'm cheap.) also, i recommend using a large yellow onion, and placing the peel in the stock while it's simmering. this give a rich yellow color. really tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
What flavor! The difference had to be returning the bones to the pot. This was amazing! I made it with the leftovers from a roasted chicken and then used the stock to make the Best Chicken Soup recipe from this site. What a great meal on a cold day. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This stock is so full of flavor. I omitted the ginger and added a little dried parsley and it came out fabulous! Maybe someday I'll be brave enough to try it with the ginger. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Orange, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was awesome. Just full of flavor. Only complaint is that a lot of the liquid cooked away during the day and I wasn't left with as much as aniticipated. Next time I will either double up or add some canned chicken broth to stretch. Update: Made a second time. this time I just completely covered my 3.5 pound chicken with water. I added 2 bouillon cubes as well. Gave me lots more stock with no loss of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I have never made my own stock before but I am so happy I did. I also added a few black peppercorns and 2 whole cloves. Thanks for the recipe Margaret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Excellent! Just what I was looking for. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I really didnt think this had much flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I made this early this morning and had chicken with gravy tonight using the chicken I used in the stock. Was a little afraid of how the kids would react since they like down home gravy. They loved it, didn't tell them it was homemade and that the sodium level and fat content was much lower than the store bought. Thanks so much, froze the rest to use in other dishes. Will be using this in place of store bought broth and soups. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States