Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Best chicken stock we have ever made! The smell of your chicken in the winter time is amazing. We put them in muffin pan's and freeze them. When they are frozen we pop them out and put them in a ziplock bag. They will stay fresh for 6 months and you can easily add them to other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
I have been searching for the perfect chicken stock recipe for years. I've tried everything from cookbooks to my mother-in-laws recipe to ones that I have found on this site. Until now every one of them has just been okay. But this recipe is perfect! I love it! The idea to take the chicken out after an hour and then continue simmering just the bones and skin is brilliant, yet so simple. I can't believe I didn't think of it. The chicken is so tender cooked this way! And the stock? Well, I can tell you that I'm done searching for recipes. This is THE one! I will never make another one again. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
i really enjoy the ginger in this chicken stock recipe, which is the one thing that really separates it from other chicken stocks i've made. i generally follow the recipe, except that i at least double the ginger, and i add more water (10 cups), too, because 7 cups for 4lbs of chicken (backs) seems too little. (and i'm cheap.) also, i recommend using a large yellow onion, and placing the peel in the stock while it's simmering. this give a rich yellow color. really tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is absolutely the best chick stock recipe that I have used. The good this is that you can add or take away ingredients depending on your tastes. Sometimes I add a leek to add flavor to the broth. All of the flavor of the stock is definatley from returning the bones to the pot. I get so many compliments on the smell and the taste and it is always good to enjoy your own cooking. Salut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This was awesome. Just full of flavor. Only complaint is that a lot of the liquid cooked away during the day and I wasn't left with as much as aniticipated. Next time I will either double up or add some canned chicken broth to stretch. Update: Made a second time. this time I just completely covered my 3.5 pound chicken with water. I added 2 bouillon cubes as well. Gave me lots more stock with no loss of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Thank you, Margaret, for the best homemade chicken stock I have made yet! This came out so flavorful and rich! I had never heard of simmering the chicken first, then adding the bones and skin back to the pot with the additional ingredients. This must be the secret to great stock! Your recipe is my new alternative to canned chicken broth minus the MSG!!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEACHERMOM37

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good recipe. The directions should be more specific for first time stock chefs, though. Just remember to cover the pot with a lid when you simmer. Otherwise, you will have very little broth. I think the fresh ginger makes a big difference. I hope I never have to buy canned chicken broth again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
I've tried to make homemade chicken stock before and was very disappointed and hesitant to try again. I am glad I did. I added a few whole peppercorns and one whole clove. Excellent flavor. You could almost serve this by itself. This is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
What flavor! The difference had to be returning the bones to the pot. This was amazing! I made it with the leftovers from a roasted chicken and then used the stock to make the Best Chicken Soup recipe from this site. What a great meal on a cold day. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Ok, I confess. I'm a chicken broth snob. Disenchanted with homemade stock after homemade stock, I've now a small slice of ownership in Swanson's . . . Well, with my back up against the wall the other day, I decided to prepare some shredded chicken, which led to me determining to make a stock for the freezer as well. I began with an Alton Brown recipe, but wasn't satisfied, so I kept looking, and found this one. The catch? The ginger. Now fully intrigued, my pot ended up looking like the recipe here, plus parsley, garlic, and peppercorns. On my own merit, I added in two whole cloves and a teaspoon of salt. The result? 7 cups of a full bodied-aroma broth/stock with a surprising bit of hearty to the flavor! Not quite Swanson's, but I think I"m going to play and tweak this one some more. I rated four stars, because I did add the additional items via Alton, and I do believe they complimented the mix. Thank you, Margaret, for the marvellously clever idea of ginger! I am convinced this is/was one key ingredient I've been missing all these years! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaJireh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States