Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This is the best, as is - period the end. Oh and you DO NOT leave the lid off while simmering at all or you will end up with no broth!! The lid stays on until cooling in case that is confusing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This made a fabulous cup of stock -- literally, one cup. I don't know how many I started with, but I put a 3.5lb chicken in a 5-liter pot (my biggest one) and filled it almost to the brim. Four hours and a fat-skimming later, I had the cup. My gas stove burns fairly high, so I have trouble keeping things at a low simmer, and perhaps I was supposed to cover it for more than the last hour. I will definitely make this again, but this time will either cover the whole time or add water during the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
It was really good comparing to the canned chicken broth. The kitchen was smelling so delicious that I could not wait for 3 more hours after I took out the meet, so I just simmered it 45 minutes more and that's it. It was perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is great -- and easy for a novice supermaker, like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
i used the left over turkey and bones and leave out the salt. Apart from it, I follow every single thing. WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Causeway Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is a wonderful stock. I'm so in love with it. It goes in all my recipes that need broth now. Chicken pot pie, chicken soup, chicken and dumplings, whatever. Whenever I don't have fresh ginger root, I'll just sprinkle the powdered stuff in and it still is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This recipe worked great. I froze it after making it. One thing I didn't add was the salt since I'm worried about how much salt is in stock or broth. I used some stock yesterday (made soup)and it turned out great. It needs salt though but I like to add it when I use the stock in a recipe. Great recipe, easy to follow instructions and great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda0989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Just made this stock, and wow! I am very amazed at what a little ginger will do to a recipe. I actually used a stewing hen. Didn't cut it up right away, just the legs to start off with. I sauted the carrots, celery and garlic added the chicken and water and boiled for 1 1/2 hours (longer b/c it was whole). I then took out the chicken and cut it up into quarters, took off the chicken breast and put the whole thing back into the water with some bay leaves, a little salt and the ginger. boiled it for another 2-3 hours. I didn't have onion, but i put in some green winter onion instead and it was amazing even still! I will never make stock any other way again. Thanx for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This is cheaper and better than store bought. The chicken was used to make soup and chicken salad. I now have plenty stock to use. The stock was stored in one cup size containers and frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
This is a great way make healthy and tasty stock :) I just use 2 bay leaves, a little more fresh minced ginger and add a few cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States