Chicken Stock Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I only got 2.5 cups from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was great chicken stock! The fresh ginger put it over the top for me! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Instead of using the chicken, I usually just use the leftover "skeleton" from a roasted chicken, and whatever herbs and spices I used to roast the chicken add another dimension of flavor. Also, I add a couple cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Ok, I confess. I'm a chicken broth snob. Disenchanted with homemade stock after homemade stock, I've now a small slice of ownership in Swanson's . . . Well, with my back up against the wall the other day, I decided to prepare some shredded chicken, which led to me determining to make a stock for the freezer as well. I began with an Alton Brown recipe, but wasn't satisfied, so I kept looking, and found this one. The catch? The ginger. Now fully intrigued, my pot ended up looking like the recipe here, plus parsley, garlic, and peppercorns. On my own merit, I added in two whole cloves and a teaspoon of salt. The result? 7 cups of a full bodied-aroma broth/stock with a surprising bit of hearty to the flavor! Not quite Swanson's, but I think I"m going to play and tweak this one some more. I rated four stars, because I did add the additional items via Alton, and I do believe they complimented the mix. Thank you, Margaret, for the marvellously clever idea of ginger! I am convinced this is/was one key ingredient I've been missing all these years! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaJireh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Pretty simple and you can change it up quite easily. I don't use a whole chicken for this. Instead I freeze bones/skins/tidbits from roasting a chicken and other chicken meals when bones present. Why not use that up versus tossing out? Onwards: In the summer/fall I add fresh thyme/rosemary/parsley from my herb garden. I do use dried when fresh isn't available. Also, whole peppercorns, coriander seeds & lightly smashed garlic cloves. Minimal salt. If my oven is being used for something else, I roast veg before adding. Otherwise I go with raw state but chopped smaller. The ginger is a great addition. After 1st straining, I add a beaten egg white mixed with water plus the egg shell crushed up. Bring to boil, shut off heat and let sit until a "raft" forms. Strain again using cheesecloth. This clears up the stock. I freeze in 1C containers and use when needed. Nice base you can toy with for your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I used this as a base and it's great! I bought 2 rotisserie chickens on sale, shredded the meat and froze it, then stewed the bones and the meat that was left on, along with an onion and its skin, 3 stalks celery, 12 baby carrots, a few stalks of baby kale, and covered the chicken bones with water. I let it simmer for 2 hours, then chilled the broth so I could scrape off the fat. Then I saved it in 1-cup portions of freezer ziplock bags, freezing flat to save space. I'll use the broth for rice, mashed potatoes, or soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My chicken stock is cooling as we speak. Well this was easy as pie. I never boil chicken so I found the boning process easier than baked or deep fried. I stuck to the original recipe very closely and my wife and I agree its just about perfect. Great stock, perfect chicken meat, and by the way, the strained veggies etc is practically a meal in itself. Can't wait to use this stock in my next recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I put the stock in the frig over night and scrap off about 1/4 inch of hard white chicken fat that collects at the top! Besides that, I have enjoyed this broth with using fresh ginger and add my favorite spices according to what I plan to use it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Really good recipe. The directions should be more specific for first time stock chefs, though. Just remember to cover the pot with a lid when you simmer. Otherwise, you will have very little broth. I think the fresh ginger makes a big difference. I hope I never have to buy canned chicken broth again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Fun to do, never cooked a whole chicken before. Broth was awesome! Made it into Chicken Tortilla Soup. Need to skim the FOG (fat-oil-grease) off during the 3-4 hour simmer...You'll never want canned stock again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

How to Make Stock

Watch Chef John prepare a long-simmering chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States