Chicken Stock Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe with tons of flavor. It is a good way to use leftover chicken too. My husband loved it and couldn't believe I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
This was new fun and very good.We loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This is a very rich, bit labor intensive, very delicious gumbo. The base (or rou) makes this dish special. I have also added summer squash and zucchini to make this a yummy summer garden potash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe.You can use whatever you have on hand and it comes out good everytime. I like mine a little more spicy,so I used diced tomatoes with green chilies for that extra punch. Also added corn,water chestnuts,and whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I had only made gumbo a few times before, but this was by far the best. I actually omitted the chicken and added ham and shrimp. I also left the water out, just went with 2 qts of stock. Everyone that had this loved it. I had very little left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I doubled this recipe for our youth group. It was a good, inexpensive gumbo that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
the first time i follow exactly was awsome! and now i use the base idea (rue and chicken broth) and use what i have on hand or have fun playing with different ingreds....Amazing!! you are the best for sharing this recipe with all of us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This gumbo is really good. I was a bit skeptical about putting the rice in uncooked, but it cooked in the 30 min and really thickened up the gumbo nicely. I pulled meat off a rotisserie chicken and added it before simmering for 2 1/2 hours, in addition to the smoked sausage. One thing I would change: I would make the roux (bacon fat/oil/flour) by itself first, stirring constantly until it was the color of dark peanut butter; then I'd add the veggies to cook them down. In following the instrux as noted, I found that the flour mixture kept sticking to the bottom of the pan and never achieved a gravy-like consistency, which apparently it should have. But the taste is outstanding, so even following the instrux to a T resulted in delicious gumbo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
GREAT!!! I have always been afraid of making a dish that calls for a roux, but this was really easy. I also baked chicken, shredded it and added when I added the tomatoes and okra, to make the dish more hearty. Other than that I followed the directions exactly and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
WOW....have to say that this is the best gumbo I have ever eaten. Thanks for the recipe. I also added crab to the mix...Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Indiana, USA
Living In: Montello, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States