Chicken Stock Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I make this recipe every year on Fat Tuesday since 2011. It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
This was delicious! I didn't have frozen okra but I used a can of sliced okra, I added chopped green chilies, and I used quite a bit more cayenne. I did serve with more rice (we used brown rice instead). My husband and I loved this, we will certainly have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAT31302
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I had a whole chicken to use up-and I am pleased that I used it for this recipe. This gumbo is awesome. The beauty of this recipe is that it works-even if you don't have all of the ingredients. I didn't have a bell pepper, fresh parsley or bay leaves. I put it together in the morning and let it cook in the slow cooker all day. The rice really thickens it up and makes it hearty. The next day, the rice turns the gumbo very thick-almost like a super-yummy oatmeal consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
THIS....WAS....AWESOME!!!! I made this for my family and went exactly by the directions. I am definately going to make this again. About the only thing I would change is to add more lemon to the mix. 1 table spoon really wasn't enough. You could only taste a hint of lemon toward the bottom of the pot. If that's how you like it, then the instructions are fine the way they are. My suggestion would be to take a whole lemon, cut it in half, and throw it in the pot. Now that's gumbo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
was awesome! my 3 kids and husband loved it! I followed the advice of "KC" and did the roux first then added it to the pot. I live in the midwest but I LOVE southern cooking, and this recipe is perfect recipe for a perfect taste of the south.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was sooooo goood! Even though my husban does not like okra, he enjoyed the soup very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
So stinkin' good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
WOW....have to say that this is the best gumbo I have ever eaten. Thanks for the recipe. I also added crab to the mix...Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Indiana, USA
Living In: Montello, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
GREAT!!! I have always been afraid of making a dish that calls for a roux, but this was really easy. I also baked chicken, shredded it and added when I added the tomatoes and okra, to make the dish more hearty. Other than that I followed the directions exactly and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States