Chicken Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I added more garlic, ginger and soy sauce (about double) than called for and ALWAYS add brown sugar to the soy sauce. It makes the flavor incredible. I also mix the cornstarch with the water and add it at when I put in the broccoli at the end. Once the broccoli is 1/2 done I add the soy sauce, ginger and garlic. I notice if you add it earlier the flavor becomes more mild as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4everLuuvd
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
I am giving this a HIGH FIVE because even though I started with the original recipe, and I ended up tweaking it a bit to suit OUR taste, it is an EXCELLENT "as is" recipe. I followed instructions to a tee until the celery. I haven't heard of too many stir fry recipes calling for celery that I liked in the past, so I REPLACED the celery for the same amount of green cabbage. The amount of water it called for, at that point I felt would have been too wet for us (perhaps using the cabbage instead of celery???) I used only 1/4 cup of water and bullion. I also added after tasting it, another full table spoon of soy sauce and a tsp of crushed garlic. this made my husband say, "WOWIE WOW WOW WOW!" (He is usually a ONE WOW guy and THAT is even a good thing!) Thank you for a great recipe that is good AS IS and can be tweaked and probably STILL just as GOOD. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
530 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This is a good basic recipe that is easy to modify to your personal tastes. I used the frozen stir fry veggies I had on hand and added mushrooms, baby corn, & water chestnuts. Chicken broth is my sub for bouillon. I agree with many of the posters who said it needs more spice and also those who had to use a little extra cornstarch to thicken the sauce. During the last few minutes of cooking, I added red pepper, garlic powder, and soy sauce for more flavor and a handful of cashews for a little crunch. My family gave my version 4 stars. This is a good recipe to play around with and add your own touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This REALLY tasted great and with the corn starch, had the consistency of restaurant Chinese food. I LOVED how the chicken tasted after coating with cornstarch, and THEN frying in a pan. To keep cals low, I used Pam Olive Oil Spray, and it worked great. Actually maybe better because it browned very nicely. Chicken breast is hard to keep moist anyway, and this method was excellent. Half of the corn starch stuck to the bag, so I diluted 2 TBSP corn starch in chicken broth and added after everything was combined. It thickened right up! Needs more salt, but some may not want it. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I made this recipe for my husband and my son and they both liked it. However, we all agreed that it needed a little something more. Some kind of sauce coating the chicken and vegetables. I assumed that the water and bouillon would do that, but it didn't. It just cooked down to almost nothing. I will make this recipe again but I will try putting some kind of sauce along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Well I cooked this recipe tonight for dinner and I loved it. I changed the recipe around a bit. I actually forgot that I didn’t have cornstarch so I tried substituting flour (2 tbls flour to each 1 tbls cornstarch)… which I heard could be used, but I don’t really think it worked. So in turn, the sauce was thin but we ate it over rice and it was still very delicious. I also used about a half a tbls of fresh ginger instead of ground because it was what we had. To the vegetable mixture, I added some mushrooms and corn. I liked this recipe very much and will most fix it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
ADD 2 TABLESPOONS OF WORCESTERSHIRE!!!! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
The great thing about a stir-fry is that its like a bad day fishing, because its still ends up being a good day! You can add just about anything you want to the basic recipe and it will probably end up good. My girlfriend and I added bok choy and Chinese noodles. And a bag of frozen veggies helped speed up the process. The ginger coated chicken was very good and the Chinese noodles were a refreshing change over the standard white rice. If you use the Chinese noodles, just be aware they cook much faster than regular pasta. So grab your chopsticks and dig in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was easy and good. I found at the end of cooking you need to add more ginger. Everyone in my home enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I wanted a way to finish off my veggies before they went bad... and this was quick, easy, and tasted a lot better than the effort I put in would warrant it. Feel free to use your own mix of veggies; I had onions, carrots, and bell papers. I also agree that a little bit (1.5 tbls?) of brown sugar is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States