Chicken Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty close (did not wait a full 30 minutes to marinate chicken) and really felt it lacked in flavor and shouted for contrast. If you like "plain" seasoning or have never had stir-fry before this might be the recipe for you. It is a good basic foundation to stir-fry which is hard to mess up. This recipe is DEFINITELY lacking brown sugar. I also thought it was silly to coat the chicken with the cornstarch. By doing this, when I cooked the chicken/sauce mixture it left gooey globs of sauce mix that stuck to the pan. As many others mentioned, the cornstarch should really be added to the water/broth mixture to help the sauce thicken and avoid this problem. If I were to do it over I would add Brown Sugar, Cheyenne Pepper, Red Pepper flakes and possibly pineapple for some contrast. Anyone else who thought it was lacking flavor and is a bit more daring, I would suggest you look up Joel's Jerk Chicken for a more bold recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent recipe the chicken is very moist. Great flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I use the seasoning amounts for my basic stirfries and substitute frozen veggies. It works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Really good as is, but also as base for adding more spice for personal tastes. We thought it needed more of the ginger and garlic and soy. But the chicken is wonderfully tender. The dish is colorful with the crispy veggies. Next time I may add cashews. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Fantastic flavor!! To feed 4 adults well I doubled this recipe & it was perfect. I'm not a celery fan so I replaced with zucchini. Also I added a good amount of crushed red pepper flakes for a tasty kick ;) wonderful recipe....will be on my family's weekly menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Just made this recipe and it was great! I made a few changes, just because of other's reviews. I cut the chicken into cubes. I added roughly 2 tbsp. of honey to the pan and cooked the chicken in the honey then took the chicken out. I got to cheat because we have a 5lb. bag of frozen stir-fry mix, so I added four cups of that to a Pam sprayed pan. I cooked that for about 5 minutes. I boiled water and mixed the bouillon cube in it. I added 1/2 cup of water with the cube into the stir-fry mix, which may have been a bit too much water because I had to cook at high for about 15 minutes to get the extra juice out. Then, I added about a tsp. of garlic powder, 1tbsp. of soy sauce and cooked that. It was soooo good and my bf was actually really liked it too. I will definitely make this again. I will just add maybe one more chicken breast and another two cups of stir-fry mix because we ate it all. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I made this and it was an instant hit! Only thing I do different is that I add a little bit of brown sugar to the mix. My family requests this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
we love this!! i make this dish every month!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Great recipe with a few tweaks. I put 1/2 of the cornstarch on the chicken and 1/2 in the water mix. I also added approx 1 tablespoon of fresh ginger and fresh garlic towards the end of cooking the vegetables. Let the water mix on the side of the pan, so the vegetables don't over cook while the sauce boils and thickens. I tilt the pan so the heat is only under the sauce. Of course if you are using a wok, push vegetables up the side of the wok while sauce cooks on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is the first 5-Star rating, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States