Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This was the best chicken stew I ever made. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Absolutely delicious, and even better the next day! I made my own chicken broth, however, by boiling a left over roast chicken with some salt, and took the meat off the bones that way. I used chopped carrots instead of frozen mixed vegetables, and Epicure's poultry seasoning. The dumplings were easy to make and so savory with the dill in them; I'd never had them that way before. This is going to be a new favourite in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Longman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made this for supper last night. I added about another 12 oz of chicken stock and a bit more butter and flour to make it work. I didn't put the dill in the dumplings because my husband doesn't like dill. This was a big hit. My husband has been asking me to make a chicken stew with dumplings like his grandmother use to make and he told me "This is it" .The stew was very flavorful and the dumplings were perfect. Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I doubled the low sodium broth and veggies because there was so much chicken, which meant I had to double the butter and flour for the roux too. I was able to leave out the salt, basil and thyme because I simmered the chicken carcasses in the broth for 30 minutes first. That gave the broth more than enough salt and flavor. Added a bay leaf because I could. I never made dumplings before. My lesson learned is stick to the rounded T. not do the heaping T.! They were nice and airy inside. It's cold and snowing outside and this was a nice comfort food dinner. My family loved it. The only time consuming and messy part was pulling apart the rotisserie chickens. This dish was well worth it though. The recipe is going into my box of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Fantastic! Much easier than my own. Just added more broth and chicken. Still a thick and hearty stew. Next time i may use egg dumplings instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanne Wahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I made this tonight but I used AR's "Dumplings" recipe instead of this dumpling recipe. It's both a winner and a keeper! Note to self: next time, make double and freeze half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
My family loved this. It was easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
My entire family raved about this recipe (there's eight of us) so I know it's a winner. I used carrots, more potatoes, and didn't include the frozen vegetables, simply because I didn't have any. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Coward-Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is a very yummy recipe. My husband suggested sour cream and chives to the dumplings and my daughter a pinch less pepper maybe half a teaspoon instead of one whole teaspoon. Other than that the whole family devoured the whole pot. No leftovers at all. Thank you for this wonderful recipe! We will be using it often. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was an delicious chicken stew ! Family loved it! I did not make the dumplings ,I made biscuits on the side. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States