Chicken Stew with Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I really liked this recipe, I made minor changes for my personal taste. Used white pepper ( instead of back, to make it a bit spicier ) and added 2 cups of water and 2 more tablespoons of flour to thicken the roux. Very good, I would make it again and the hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah7a
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was a really good place to start for me because I used to make chicken and dumplings all the time and wanted to again since the season is changing, however I couldn't exactly remember how I made it and sadly didn't write it down! I followed this recipe somewhat but changed a few things which in my opinion made it so much better :) the rotisserie chicken was a great time saver and delicious! After shredding the chicken I sautéed carrots, celery, and onion in butter and when they were tender I added the flour - however I also added almost another full cup of butter and about 1/2 a cup of flour - I like the stew to be thick and creamy and the amounts of flour in butter in this recipe was not enough.I used organic chicken broth and almost about 32 oz of it -its really inportant to taste and also to make sure the stew is to the consistency youd like. i also omitted the thyme, basil, potato and mixed vegetable and instead just added frozen peas. Another thing - JUST USE BISQUICK!! It makes THE BEST dumplings and so easy - I just add a little pepper to mine. After adding the chicken I dropped 10 dumplings onto the boiling stew, turned the heat down and cooked uncovered for 10 min and covered for 10 min - veggies were perfectly cooked and oh my god everything was soooo delicious! I hope this helps anyone looking for a great seasonal dish ;) so easy and impressive and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
followed it to my distracted attention but it all came together in the end. fantastic flavour and the dumplings were a hit with sceptcal kids thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I have never made this before so I followed this recipe and the comments added by Sarah7a with a couple slight modifications. I did everything Sarah7a recommended except I used this recipe for the dumplings and swapped out the dill for ground rosemary to give it a little different seasoning. I did include potatoes but used little creamers which cooked up beautifully in the stock. I also only used half a cup of butter and a 1/4 cup of flour instead of the amount Sahara7a used and I had a really nice consistency for my stock. I too like a thicker stock so I used 2 - 17.5 oz College Inn Bold Rotisserie chicken stock which gave it a great flavor and a good consistency. I let mine simmer a little too long and it got too thick so I had to open a can of regular chicken stock I had and add a little more to thin it so I could add the dumplings. So I might go a little less than a 1/4 cup on the flour next time. It turned out fantastic, everyone really enjoyed it! I will definitely be making this one again! Thanks 2nd Course and Sarah7a for your recipe and comments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Made this for supper tonight as I had left over chicken. Used fresh veggies rather than frozen and added some garlic but felt it still needed more flavor. I will make this again but will use fresh herbs and my own dumpling recipe. Wonderful comfort food.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswaldtwistle, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
My favorite!!! I love this recipe and I make it as much as I can...Its easy and the taste is GREAT! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
At this writing, 25% of the reviews are for the dumplings only, not the stew. This review is for the stew only, not the dumplings as we made a different version. The stew was pretty good but not remarkable. Some fresh red bell pepper, parsley, and more seasonings helped boost a weakly flavored stew making it more tasty than it otherwise would’ve been. Replace the frozen mixed vegetables with fresh ones and use some fresh herbs to kick this up a notch. One of the highest rated helpful reviews mentions adding about 1 more cup of butter but doesn’t mention the extra 1,600 fat calories that would be added to this dish. We made the roux as written, and it was fine for us. Probably will not make this recipe again as we tried another chicken and dumpling stew from this site which was great, and want to try a few others that look inviting. Thanks 2ND COURSE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm just rating the dumplings because I used my own chicken and sauce recipe. The dumplings were fabulous - tender and buttery. I just omitted the dill because I don't care much for it. Just looking at the rest of the recipe, I'd probably add more chicken broth though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Okay, I loved the outcome of this recipe, I started off with 4 tablespoons of butter with a diced onion and 3 tablespoons of flour to make the roux. Then I added 1 & 1/4 box of swanson chicken broth (the 32 oz.) Then I added all the seasonings but used red pepper instead of black pepper and added the juice from 1 lemon wedge to give it added flavor. I used 4 whole russet potatoes, peeled and cut into medium sized chunks, and almost half a package of baby carrots cut in halves, and then I added half a bag of frozen peas and two chicken breasts cooked and cubed. I probably let it all stew together for about 35-40 minutes. I skipped on the dumplings and had fresh french bread on the side instead. Mmmm, this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This recipe was awesome, very well liked by all. I took a couple of short cuts, used frozen chicken breasts cubed and microwaved, and cut up frozen biscuits instead of the dumpling recipe. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and the results were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hillsboro, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maryville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States