Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Really like this stew, it's easy to make and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Absolutely suberb! I gave my parents some for their dinner too and they thought it tasted like something they'd get at a restaurant. It really was excellent! This will be one of my top 10 recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
One of my favorites. I use the whole can of coconut milk and diced tomatoes. Have made this over and over ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This smelled much more tantalizing than it tasted. I made it on the stove top because we do not use a microwave. I would probably make it again, but maybe I'll add the coconut milk at the very end of the cooking time to keep it creamier. When I made this, I couldn't even taste the coconut milk. Being a frequent diner at Asian/Indian restaurants, this dish seemed like it was missing something very significant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I gave this only 3 stars. It definitely thought something was very missing in the taste. It just did not have the zing I was looking for. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I tend to alter recipes a lot, and I saw that everyone said it was "missing something" but it was good. Here's some of what I did to fill out the flavor: -cooked on stove top in large iron pot -Sauteed onions and garlic until caramelized, then added carrots, then potatoes, then tomatoes, fresh parsley -added chx stock and kept reducing to create a kind of stock -added coconut milk, red pepper flakes, some chicken bouillion powder, curry powder, a little cumin, dried thyme -then added lima beans, then all chicken -cooked chx submerged about 20 or so minutes. - (I used skinless boneless thighs and legs) -a little corn starch w/ water in the end to thicken It came out great and didn't lack at all. I also didn't pay attention to the measurements and went by eye and taste. Too much coconut milk can make things taste too smooth and bland and covers flavors, so creating the condensed veggie "stock" and some chicken bouillion gave it the fullness to balance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Pretty good for a quick fix. Like others, I cooked this on the stove top. I didn't have everything on hand so instead of canned tomatoes and lima beans I used fresh tomatoes and chickpeas. I also felt it lacked something, so right before serving I mixed in the juice of half a lime. Worked out great. Next time I'll probably add some thai basil. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this in my rice cooker and it turned out fabulous. No leftovers. I put everything but the chicken in the rice cooker and mixed it up......then added the chicken and hit start. It was done in less than 30 minutes (checked w/meat thermometer). I didn't have tomatoes or chicken broth.....so i just added a little less than a cup of water and it was perfect. It even made it's own gravy that was the perfect consistency. I will DEFINITELY make this again. Served with caribbean style coconut bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This tasted really good! The sauce was great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States