Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great recipe. I used the stovetop and used 2 tablespoons each of cumin and curry for more flavour. I also used sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was delicious! I did it on the stovetop and used chicken thighs that I browned first. I used a whole can of coconut milk and a whole can of tomatoes, otherwise followed the recipe to a T. The flavor is amazing and it is pretty easy to make. I served it with jasmine rice, but the rice didn't do anything for the recipe, so I'll skip that next time. The potatoes provide enough starch and have all that wonderful flavor. I will definitely be adding this to my "do again" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Yum. Super easy and super good. I haven't made in the microwave (as cooking chicken in the microwave freaks me out), but have prepared on the stove & in the crock pot. Used sweet potatoes and frozen peas as sub. for yellow potatoes and lima beans. Omitted tomatoes, and added peanut butter & fish sauce for a bit more flavor. A great way to use leftover chicken. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Wow! Making this now and it is sooo tasty already! Used canned garbanzo beans and red onion because that's what I had, added grated fresh ginger and cut up about 1 Tbsp fresh basil, 1 red bell pepper sliced and used 28 oz can of organic diced tomatoes. Everything else as called for in recipe and made in pot on top of stove! Husband walked in door and said, "That smells so good!" Love it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I didn't use the lima beans and I cooked on the stove top using low heat...my husband loved it! The aroma that filled the air had everyone curious about what's in the pot...lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was outstanding! My husband and son both loved it and my husband usually doesn't like anything very different or out of the ordinary. Like most people do with recipes, I did some tweaking. I added cream of mushroom soup (undiluted), left out the baby lima beans since I didn't have any on hand, used a whole 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of a 1/4 of the can, added a diced red bell pepper and minced garlic, and sauteed the pepper, onion, and garlic before adding to the rest of the ingredients. I also cooked everything in a pot on the stove instead of microwaving, and I doubled the recipe. Wow! I was so amazed how good this tasted! It was so easy and quick to make! It was perfect for a rainy and cold day like today, and will be a regular meal at our home from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Definitely needed some spice and extra kick. I added the juice of one lime and some red pepper. Really good served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This is fabulous! I cook curries a lot and I use yellow curry paste which includes a whole gamut of spices including cumin. It's quite spicy and worked in this dish wonderfully. Thanks Jean! Made mine on the stovetop as I never cook in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Lombardo Durham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Next time I would use half the amount of lentils and add 1/3 cup of raisins. It was still good though, but the potatoes and lentils provided a trxture that wasnt to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kriss925
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
My tweeks: Cook in a large pot on stove top. Sautee onion first just until it's soft. ...Add 3 cloves of garlic roughly chopped.Add chicken. Add carrots - I didn't have baby carrots so I used regular ones, I wanted extra vegs so I used about 1 1/4 cup Add liquids- coconut milk, tomatoes, stock (I didn't have chicken so I used vegetable). Add spices. Many people said the original recipe was missing something so in addition to the curry & cumin, I added 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper. I also used a heaping tbsp of tomatoe paste & about 1/4 tsp of corn starch. Add potatoes, I used a lil more potatoes too. Add lima beans & simmer on medium heat until all vegs are cooked through. Hot sauce for some spice! I served it over basmati rice cooked in water and the left over coconut milk. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriss925

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States