Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Made exactly to recipe, but had seemed to be lacking flavor. I did thicken it up with cornstarch. I might make again, but add more vegetables and flavoring. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Suuuuper easy even for a non cook like me :) I was a bit weary of the mix of coconut milk with diced tomatoes, but it was great. I hate lima beans, so I decided to use red kidney beans instead and it was great! I also use way more curry and have added things lke corn and mushrooms. Great recipe without the chicken as well, so great for your vegetarian friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Santitas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I tried this recipe & I love it! It very easy to maje & my family loves it! It fills my home with such an succulent aroma and it tastes absolutely delicious. The only thing I did different was add a handful of raisins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Yummy, with plain rice or fried rice! Simple to produce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was so easy. Put everything in a pot on the stove and let it cook for a couple of hours.. My family loved it with rice. The only adjustment I will make is to add more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Like the other reviewers I cooked this on the stove. I used a 1.5 Tbsp of curry and a tsp of chili powder. I fried the onions in olive and curry. Then I added the chicken and potatoes. I browned them for 5 minutes. I added the broth, cumin, chili powder and coconut milk. Let it simmer for 20 minutes. I then added the veggies. I skipped the tomatoes and carrots but added baby corn, stem mushrooms, bok choy, and water chestnuts. I let it simmer for another 10-15 minutes before serving over rice. I would have added more chili and maybe red rooster sauce but I don't think my baby can handle the spice through his milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was sooo yummy! I did it on the stovetop, browning the chicken first. I was a little afraid of the lima beans, but they were perfect in this dish. Everyone loved it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made a vegetarian version of this dish by substituting canned seitan (which is a meat substitute made from wheat gluten that has the texture and flavor of chicken) for the chicken. I also substituted canned white beans for the lima beans (since I hate lima beans), and added 1/3 cup white flour to thicken the sauce...I also cooked it in the slow cooker. I first fried the seitan in a little oil, the fried the veggies for a bit and stirred in the flour, spices and coconut milk to thicken a little before tossing into the slow cooker for 4 hours. I served over rice and it was delish! I don't normally go crazy altering recipes, but since I wanted to do a slow cooker vegetarian version, I had to make a few changes, but the overall flavors were the same. This dish is mildly spicy and very tasty. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love flavors that resemble those from the Philippines and India, and this was really delicious. It was so easy to make, even on the stove. I browned the chicken in olive oil with some seasoning, then took it out, and covered it. The I put all of the vegetables (potatoes with the peel on, carrots, the whole can of diced tomatoes, onion, garlic, and corn) in the pot with the curry and cumin (I put a lot more than what the recipe called for because I love those spices), and added a dash of ginger. I cooked those until they began to soften, then returned the chicken to the pot, added the chicken broth and coconut milk, and then frozen peas and let it simmer for about 30-45 minutes. It turned out so good, and my fiance, who usually doesn't like curry, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia Howe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was great! I did modify how I cooked it ( browned chicken and then slow cooked for 2 hrs.) but the ingredient proportions were perfect. My family w/ a 5 and 9 yo all loved it. I left out the potatoes and the beans and added a handful of diced green and red bell pepper I had leftover. The potatoes would have been good for adding body, but I didn't have any around. Instead I served it over some white rice. Def. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States