Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was very, very good. I made some changes that I'm not sure I would go with next time but the basic recipe is wonderful and deserves 5 stars! I didn't have potatoes so I subbed mashed potato flakes - I used about 1/3 cup which was too much so it was a little thicker than I'd like and the flavor was a little overpowering. The other thing I overdid was the hot sauce - next time I'll up the spices instead. I only had 2 chicken breasts, so I added a half pound of (defrosted) frozen cooked shrimp at the very end, which was yummy. Used a whole can each of light coconut milk, tomatoes and peas (instead of lima beans. Used a little more chicken broth to balance out my over-potatoes. Next time, I think I'll use corn instead of peas, increase the ratio of coconut milk to the other liquids. But overall, I was really pleased with how easy and tasty this was. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Didn't care for the idea of making this in the microwave, so I used all the same ingredients on the stove in a stockpot. I found it a little bland, initially, but I think it's a pretty good recipe overall. I think topping it with a handful of chopped fresh thai basil would be a nice addition. I might even add a little ginger next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent and easy!Mods: Used slow cooker. 2.5 hours on high. Added 13.5oz (1 full can of coconut milk), rather than the 8oz the recipe calls for. Subbed spaghetti sauce for diced tomatoes. Omitted the lima beans and added 2 cups of frozen veggies. Added 2 extra TBS of extra-spicy curry. Perfect results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
We thought this was delicous!! I did need to double the spices- but it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was really good! It lacked a strong curry flavor, so next time I'll add a pinch more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was one of the easiest dishes I have ever made. The flavor was superb. I was going to cook it in a pot on the stove, but decided to use the microwave after all. Serve it with hot Naan bread, to sop up the juices. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was excellent. We had the leftovers the next day and it was even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was pretty good. I didn't have potatoes so I used cauliflower, and I substituted peas for lima beans and fresh chopped tomatoes for canned. I cooked it on the stove and thickened the stew with a bit of flour mixed with water. I had some spicy mango chutney left over from the last time I made a curry flavoured dish, and for me that's what really made this good - the mango complemented the chicken so nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Made this for a large group and everyone loved it and had seconds. Great flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I really enjoyed this - I doubled everything and cooked it on the stove. Sauteed onions until translucent, then cooked the chicken with the onions, then put everything in a soup pot for an hour. This recipe needs lots more of the spices than called for - and I also added a few dashes of sugar. It came out quite tasty, and I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States