Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I only have 3 dishes that all 5 of my children AND my husband likes, now I have four thank you very much. Personally I don't cook anything in the microwave, so this is a slowcooker meal for me. But NOT for only a couple of hours like one reviewer said. Four hours on high to get the potatoes cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
So yummy! All 5 of my kiddos loved this soup, which we ate over rice. I did not microwave it, but cooked it on the stove top, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I've made this recipe a handful of times. I love curry and I really appreciate that this recipe uses ingredients I almost always have on hand. My latest attempt I accidentally used the whole can of coconut milk, which I realized was wrong 2.5 seconds after doing it. I added more potatoes and about 1/2-1 teaspoon more of the spices and it seemed fine. I also use peas because I'm not a lima bean fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Fabulous recipe. Made it with tofu. So easy. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
EASY AND DELISH. I ADDED EXTRA POTATOS AND COCOANUT MILK. I OMITTED THE HOT SAUCE. EVEN MY PICKY 5 YR. OLD LIKED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This is really good and easy. Next time I will add cauliflour and server over Indian Rice. Great for the Gluten-Free diet (which we must have)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was good! I fixed it in my pressure cooker by first sauting the chicken in some olive oil along with the onions. I added the chicken broth and tomatoes and cooked it about 15 minutes in the pressure cooker. I then added the vegetables and the coconut milk and cooked for another 5 minutes. I served it over rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Very easy to make. I also threw this into a pot and let it stew for about 30-40 min. It didn't blow me away but for its simplicity, it's a good dish that I would consider making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
great recipe, even my 6, 4, 4, and 2 year old liked it. to make it more of a meal I added tiny dot pasta to make it thicker. I also cut the curry in half and left out the beans, to suit our taste. we all said we would have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was very, very good. I made some changes that I'm not sure I would go with next time but the basic recipe is wonderful and deserves 5 stars! I didn't have potatoes so I subbed mashed potato flakes - I used about 1/3 cup which was too much so it was a little thicker than I'd like and the flavor was a little overpowering. The other thing I overdid was the hot sauce - next time I'll up the spices instead. I only had 2 chicken breasts, so I added a half pound of (defrosted) frozen cooked shrimp at the very end, which was yummy. Used a whole can each of light coconut milk, tomatoes and peas (instead of lima beans. Used a little more chicken broth to balance out my over-potatoes. Next time, I think I'll use corn instead of peas, increase the ratio of coconut milk to the other liquids. But overall, I was really pleased with how easy and tasty this was. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States