Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This has to be one of my favorite stews/soups that I have made. I cooked it on the stove and pretty much followed the recipe to the t and sometimes modified it. It's really awesome veggie style (I basically used No Chicken Broth for it and took out the chicken completely). Actually, I kind of prefer it without the chicken. I think green peas would be a nice addition to this stew. UPDATE: Well, I have made this stew/soup a ton of times over the two years since I have discovered it. Initially, it was soupy and now it has turned into more of a stew. I don't really follow the recipe as I so much follow my tongue. I've upped all the spices, but I have also added more liquids. I have added canned corn (with the liquid) and I have always used fresh tomatoes versus canned (error on my part, apparently can't read). The corn and fresh tomatoes really adds to the stew. I'm thinking of adding more tomatoes just for the color of it. At any rate, I found the best way to cook the chicken is in the broth--you cut the fat (of course you literally cut the fat off the chicken) as well as time. I don't cook it all the way, just enough that it is raw in the middle and at that point I chunk it in the pot and let it simmer until the potatoes cook all the way. Last time I added crushed red peppers for extra kick on top of the hot sauce (I did this mainly cause I was using a different hot sauce with a more of a vinegar base than the previous one with a carrot base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Great flavor... I added a little peanut butter since it had a thai sort of flair to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mml25aqua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe! My husband loved it and we had it for lunch the next 2 days. It might have even been better the next day! Mine ended up more like a thick soup than a stew because I used the whole can of coconut milk (400mL or 1 1/2 cups) that was labelled specifically "for cooking" so it didn't curdle. I also used fresh tomatoes, frozen peas, and added 1 1/2 cups sliced mushrooms. Since I don't have a microwave, I floured the chicken and seared it briefly with the onion in a saucepan and then put everything together in a large pot. I also didn't have chicken broth, so I used a bouillon cube and 1 cup water instead. I served it over Thai rice with sauteed sliced red bell pepper and it was delicious! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was very good and actually even better the next day as left overs. I cooked on the stove and actually used green beans instead of limas. I just chopped up the chicken and threw it in the pot - no searing. It was good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Pretty good! I too floured/seared the chicken, and cooked on the stove. The great part about that is the flour thickens the stew (I like a thick stew). Other than that, made it pretty much as written. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I didn't make this in the microwave, I made it on the stovetop. I did flour the chicken and sear it in the pan first. This dish is excellent!!! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This is absolutely wonderful! The only changes that I made were: I added sliced red and green peppers and I omitted the potatoes. I cooked this on the stove as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I made this last week and it wasn't too bad. I found the curry a little strong so I served it over rice. That seemed to tone it down some. Don't know if I'll make it again but it isn't a bad recipe. I had some friends over the next night and they LOVED it. I guess I'm just not a big curry fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Mmmmmmm delicious! I love curry and this sure hit the spot! I pretty much made this just as written. I didn't have quite enough lima beans, and I used regular stock and tomatoes (didn't have the no salt). I thickened it a bit with cornstarch since I like a thick stew and served it over rice yummmm! The only complaint I have was that my pot was not quite big enough and it made a mess of my microwave! I will buy a bigger pot before I make it again or try it in the slow-cooker. Thanks for the new addition to my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Hi this recipe is execllent. I made this dish for my family they all loved it. this recipe is a keeper in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States