Chicken Stew 'Fricot' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
i am also an acadian and have made a similiar recipe many times,i however usually cook mine longer,at least 2 hours,so everything blends together,i dont use summer savory,i find the taste too bland,instead i use a little garlicpowder and dried parsley.also salted herbs are very nice to add.this recipe is excellent with beef,simply brown as told and let cook,the longer you cook,the softer it is.thanks for keeping the acadian food alive sophie,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I'm wondering at what point is the summer savory added to the recipe. There is no instruction for this step in the recipe cooking instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
It was really good, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
I thought this was very good. I wasn't sure what savory seasoning was so I added a pinch of thyme, tsp. of parsley and pinch of rosemary and I added one stalk of celery. I added the herbs when I added my water. Toward the end of cooking I added dumplings. I will make this again, it was lighter than chicken and dumplings and chicken and noodles. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I substituted turkey for chicken and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great traditional Acadian stew. This recipe is very true to the old Northern New Brunswick ones I have seen. I like more spice so I did add a bit of this and that to liven it to my personal taste. Great meal on a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This chicken stew is amazing. Replace potatoes with dumplings for a delicious twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I add a squeeze of lemon and white wine. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a great recipe. I've made it exactly as written, I've made it with the suggested modifications, and I've made it with my own modifications. I like it best with a few cloves of garlic minced and cooked in with the onions and chicken, using herbes de provence for the spice, cooking it with broth for 2 hours, and adding in a bit of flour at the end to thicken it. A rich, delicious stew that's definitely greater than the sum of it's parts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was delicious!! I used boneless chicken breast, fresh parsly instead of the savory, I added 1 packet of goya chicken bouillon, half a packet of goya sazon w/azafran and a little garlic salt, along w/ reccomended vegetables. Simmered for a couple of hours. Excellent!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States