Chicken Stew 'Fricot' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I didn't have savory... used rosemary, thyme and a little corriander. All my boys liked it! (husband, 11, 4, 2) I also did the garlic with the onion and chicken with some turkey stock I had and water. Added a little celery salt too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by owlison

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
My whole family loves this. Even my 3 and 5 yr old. They eat their bowls clean to my surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was delicious!! I used boneless chicken breast, fresh parsly instead of the savory, I added 1 packet of goya chicken bouillon, half a packet of goya sazon w/azafran and a little garlic salt, along w/ reccomended vegetables. Simmered for a couple of hours. Excellent!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a great recipe. I've made it exactly as written, I've made it with the suggested modifications, and I've made it with my own modifications. I like it best with a few cloves of garlic minced and cooked in with the onions and chicken, using herbes de provence for the spice, cooking it with broth for 2 hours, and adding in a bit of flour at the end to thicken it. A rich, delicious stew that's definitely greater than the sum of it's parts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I add a squeeze of lemon and white wine. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This chicken stew is amazing. Replace potatoes with dumplings for a delicious twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great traditional Acadian stew. This recipe is very true to the old Northern New Brunswick ones I have seen. I like more spice so I did add a bit of this and that to liven it to my personal taste. Great meal on a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It was a very delicious recipe. I also added some chicken soup boulion and some lemon pepper and celery. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Great recipe. I followed the other reviewers and used chicken broth instead of water and additional seasonings (garlic powder & onion salt) to spice it up. I have made this recipe several times and sometimes also add sauteed kale to the mix which I LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This is much like my Mom and Grandmother's (Memere's) recipe (we are also Acadian!) We don't brown the chicken, we add already cooked chicken (from the roast the night before) to the stock (from the night before). She also adds some celery, and if we don't add dumplings we put a little flour & water to thicken it a bit (Though, who doesn't add dumplings!? :) ) Plus, we cook it even longer, until the chicken is falling apart and stringy. So, I give 4 stars for the recipe as-is, but 5 stars to my family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caribou, Maine, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States