Chicken Stew 'Fricot' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
i am also an acadian and have made a similiar recipe many times,i however usually cook mine longer,at least 2 hours,so everything blends together,i dont use summer savory,i find the taste too bland,instead i use a little garlicpowder and dried parsley.also salted herbs are very nice to add.this recipe is excellent with beef,simply brown as told and let cook,the longer you cook,the softer it is.thanks for keeping the acadian food alive sophie,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
if you want to make this recipe really good, add chicken broth instead of water and add a bit of cream and some flour to make a gravy----delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Suzanne Faucher-Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very good. I skinned the chicken before browning, substituted seasoned garlic salt and dried parsley for summer savory, and chicken broth in place of water. Also thickened up the broth with a flour/water paste before serving. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
This Fricot is very good. I'm was sooo happy to see this recipe in the list. I'm also an Acadian, away from home, and I was dying for Fricot but didn't have the recipe. I loved it! Thanks Sophie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
I'm wondering at what point is the summer savory added to the recipe. There is no instruction for this step in the recipe cooking instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is a great recipe. I've made it exactly as written, I've made it with the suggested modifications, and I've made it with my own modifications. I like it best with a few cloves of garlic minced and cooked in with the onions and chicken, using herbes de provence for the spice, cooking it with broth for 2 hours, and adding in a bit of flour at the end to thicken it. A rich, delicious stew that's definitely greater than the sum of it's parts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I have loved fricot ever since my Acadian Nana served it. But Nana made it with the turkey leftovers after every Thanksgiving and Christmas (and so do I). I throw the leftover Turkey, the gravy and even some stuffing in to make the broth. I also use salt pork at the start and add salted scallions at the end for flavor. There is nothing bland about this dish! PS She also made wild strawberry jam!!!! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
This was so bland. We had to add a lot of seasonings to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
This recipe was very yummy, but I ended up using a lot of spices to make it not too bland. Also, it may be a good idea to thicken this stew with some roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
What a simple yet wonderful recipe. I added several cups of V-8 juice to the stew to add more flavor which it did. As one of the reviewers suggested, I also found a recipe for dumplings on this website and added to the stew. I loved the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States