Chicken, Spinach, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was the greatest recipe for soup I have ever had!!! I omitted the garbanzo beans, red peppers, and parmesan cheese, which took the calories per cup down to 150 - I think it's the olive oil that makes it taste so good, and if you're using bouillion, I highly recommend "Better than Bouillion" - lower in sodium, and tastes more like real chicken broth straight from the stock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
A great comfort food and perfect for a rainy day. I love soups anyway, but this one was quick, easy and fairly inexpensive to make. I liked that it was easy on the stomach and YUMMY too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is one of the best soups I have ever tasted. I did the recipe as stated with two exceptions. 1. Did not add roasted red peppers. I might if I had them, but didn't. 2. Added 1 tsp of file powder 5 minutes from serving to thicken the broth just a touch. Thanks, not a chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This soup is packed with nutrients. It was a huge hit with my husband. I made a few changes, and it came out great. I used 3 cups of chicken stock and 3 cups of water (rather than 2 and 4, respectively), a little more chicken than recommended, and a 25-oz can of chick peas. Instead of 2 potatoes, I chose 1 russet, 1 golden yukon, and 1 sweet potato for variety. I left out the red pepper and Parmesan cheese, but added the rest of the ingredients as written. To make the meal special, I served the soup in whole-wheat sourdough bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Interesting variety of ingredients that work well together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is the perfect recipe if you want a change of pace. One of the few recipes where I wouldn't change a thing. My daughter thought more spinach would have been great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I added a roma tomato and a tsp of sundried tomato paste, and then pureed the entire thing for my baby. He Loved it. Capscicum addition was a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Delicious and very easy! I didn't bother to cool chicken and shred it - I just chopped it before cooking it. I used dried onion and dried cayenne, since they were what I had on hand; and I added a huge overripe tomato. It was just divine on a snowy night with a loaf of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EntoChick
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was a great soup, I didn't have to add any extra salt even though I used a sodium-reduced broth. I reversed the ratio of water to stock for a stronger flavour but added more water than called for (needed the volume to cook up excess chicken which I stored for wraps later). I also grated the parmesan onto the individual bowls and topped with fresh green onion before serving. Great recipe with tonnes of protein, next time might take out one of the proteins and add noodles instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is a great recipe! I used tofu in place of the chicken, and went without the beans. It was very tasty and I'll definitely be making this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylovespugs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States