Chicken, Spinach, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was the greatest recipe for soup I have ever had!!! I omitted the garbanzo beans, red peppers, and parmesan cheese, which took the calories per cup down to 150 - I think it's the olive oil that makes it taste so good, and if you're using bouillion, I highly recommend "Better than Bouillion" - lower in sodium, and tastes more like real chicken broth straight from the stock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Great recipe! My husband even likes it (and he's not a big broth soup fan). I added a roma tomato, mushrooms, and topped with avocado. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I liked this one. I tried it with white rice. I served some rice on a bowl, then I served the soup on top and it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by argelia2008

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I made this recipe because I was trying to empty out my fridge. I did not make this recipe because I thought it sounded like a great recipe, I thought that it would be filling and help make room for new stuff. Was I ever wrong!! This was really good. My dad, who does not like soup, took seconds!! Without being asked. I made this mostly how it calls for, except that I sauteed cut up chicken thighs, I didn't poach and shred. And I used an immersion blender to chunk up the potatoes a bit after they were mostly cooked. I did end up shredding some of the chicken in the process, but it worked. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This soup is AWESOME! Hubby and I were able to stop eating it ONLY after our stomachs protested that they were way too full! Very filling soup. Made a few changes: 1/2 diced onion, 1 1/2 t. salt, 1/2 t. miso. I didn't have roasted red peppers, so I used 1/2 c. diced green pepper and roasted it in a black iron skillet in 1 t. olive oil and 1/2 t. sugar (could use soy sauce instead of sugar if not using miso) till the edges were brown. Left out the Parmesan cheese and served over jasmine rice. Added pepper to taste in individual bowls. This is definitely going in our regular rotation! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
A great comfort food and perfect for a rainy day. I love soups anyway, but this one was quick, easy and fairly inexpensive to make. I liked that it was easy on the stomach and YUMMY too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonaT33
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Excellent soup! Instead of poaching the chicken I browned it with lemon pepper seasoning in the soup pot. That added a lot of flavor to the broth. Also added some carrots, celery and leeks that I needed to use up (and let's face it, you can never go wrong putting those veggies in a soup!). Used 4 cups water and 4 cups chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Just made this and it was amazing! (I didn't have any garbanzo beans or red peppers) The only thing I did differently was to add a bunch of diced carrots to the onion/garlic mixture. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This is a tasty dish, however I would double to triple the spinach and red pepper. I added a tomatoe which tasted great in it, also I don't think I'll add garbanzo beans again they're kinda outta place in this dish...textures off. Otherwise everything else was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was absolutely Delicious!! Looks so beautiful, healthy and easy. I omitted garbanzo beans and roasted red peppers since I had none. I even forgot to add Parmesan at the end and still tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States