Chicken Spectacular Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This was terrific. I did make some changes though. I omitted green beans, but added mushrooms, about a 1/4 tsp of curry, some white rice with the wild rice, and some chopped celery (just one stalk). This was the best casserole I have ever had! Even my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This is delicious. Had to tweak it a bit as I didn't have all the ingredients (& I don't use canned vegetables so I cooked fresh green beans). I need to thin it out so I used some Half & Half and seasoned it with garlic powder, paprika and Seasonal. Used a mixture of wild and regular rice. This is a great casserole for company - make the night before and just pop in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
How aptly named, Jodi! This truly is spectacular. I didn't need to change a thing. Its flavorful and the presentation is very pretty on a plate. It would be wonderful for a ladies luncheon. My family loved this, and I will be making it often! My experimental nature would like to try a bit of garlic powder in this dish with some toasted sliced almonds to garnish the top of each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This was delicious. I bought Uncle Ben's wild rice in a box, and used the seasoning packet. I followed the cooking time and amount of water specified on the rice box. For convenience, I bought Louis Rich "oven style" cooked chicken breast. It's already cooked and cubed, and I just had to measure it out. Expensive way to do it, but great if you're short on time, and it's delicious chicken. I made this dish for someone who doesn't care for water chestnuts, but they are chopped small, so it's the crunchiness that stands out, not the taste. They really added to the dish, and I would not omit them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was an excellent casserole. I used cooked, frozen French beans and sauteed fresh mushrooms. Other than that, I followed the recipe. All of us enjoyed it. Served it with a mixed green salad and that was dinner! I'm always amazed at some of the negative comments on this site---it was bland, it had 'way too much mayo', etc. Are these cooks who don't have a clue how to modify a recipe to their tastes, or what?? This family loved the dish, Jodi. It froze very well and was excellent when reheated. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was a very good recipe. However, based on the reviews, and the ingredients that I had on hand, I did make changes as well. I used a long grain and wild rice mix, with all the seasonings, and substituted the green beans with mushrooms. Also, I sauted the onions and some chopped celery in a bit of margarine for just a short time before adding to the mix. (They were still a little crunchy). And I left out the water chestnuts because I don't like them. It was very good, except next time, I'm going to cut back on the mayo just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
loved the crunchy water chestnuts. i did use 6 oz plain white rice and 6oz wild rice (which i couldn't find in a plain bag, so i used uncle bens and used a little of the seasoning that came with it). it made a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
I added grated cheese on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I love this recipe! I've made it numeous times. Sometimes I add more chicken and cheese. My aunt makes it with double the rice and it is good that way too. It is a big hit in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This does indeed make a lot! Very good! I decreased the amount of mayo and added a little bit of ranch dressing, which gave it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States