Chicken Spectacular Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
my husband really liked this recipe. I unfortunately didn't like it as much. It had too many onions that weren't cooked through for my taste. The water chestnuts also made it seem as though there were tons of onions. Next time I will grill the onions before baking and omit the water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
I thought this was okay. Very simple way to use leftover chicken and liked by everyone in my house (ages 3-30). The onions were a big "raw" and could have used a sauteing or something. I also used Riceland's 6.6oz box of Long and Wild Rice mix and followed its directions vs. the C.S. recipe instructions. I'll make it again, but it isn't 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This was good - but I made a few changes -- I only had Uncle Ben's Wild Rice, so I used that with just a little of the seasoning mix it comes with. Also - I sauteed the chicken with onion in olive oil so onion wasn't as powerful. I reduced the Mayonaise to only about three tablespoons - as it adds less fat, and we don't like to taste too much of it in casserole recipes. At the end, I sprinkled Crispy Onions on top (the kind that you use on Green Bean Casserole - was a nice flavorful addition!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This was delicious. I bought Uncle Ben's wild rice in a box, and used the seasoning packet. I followed the cooking time and amount of water specified on the rice box. For convenience, I bought Louis Rich "oven style" cooked chicken breast. It's already cooked and cubed, and I just had to measure it out. Expensive way to do it, but great if you're short on time, and it's delicious chicken. I made this dish for someone who doesn't care for water chestnuts, but they are chopped small, so it's the crunchiness that stands out, not the taste. They really added to the dish, and I would not omit them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
WOW! Very good! SOOOOO much work though! But if you have the time..... it is all worth it! Our dinner guests 2 months ago are still bringing these up! Thanks for the recipe Gerry! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This was awesome! It was a huge hit with my husband. You can even replace the cream of celery with cream of chicken if you don't like the taste of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY73ANDERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was a very good recipe. However, based on the reviews, and the ingredients that I had on hand, I did make changes as well. I used a long grain and wild rice mix, with all the seasonings, and substituted the green beans with mushrooms. Also, I sauted the onions and some chopped celery in a bit of margarine for just a short time before adding to the mix. (They were still a little crunchy). And I left out the water chestnuts because I don't like them. It was very good, except next time, I'm going to cut back on the mayo just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
How aptly named, Jodi! This truly is spectacular. I didn't need to change a thing. Its flavorful and the presentation is very pretty on a plate. It would be wonderful for a ladies luncheon. My family loved this, and I will be making it often! My experimental nature would like to try a bit of garlic powder in this dish with some toasted sliced almonds to garnish the top of each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is a wonderfully easy and tasty recipe! Maybe something is weird with me but I doubled the amount of rice required, added mushrooms and celery instead of the green beans and added 1/2cup shredded cheddar cheese and this barely fed all of us...and I don't consider us BIG eaters or nothing. (maybe I didn't use enough chicken...I just used 5 chicken breasts cubed). Also, I used miracle whip instead of mayo, which added zip. Either way, great recipe and I will make this again! Thanks so much Jodi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
THANK YOU!!! I have been looking for this recepi for years. My mother made the same thing but with CURRIED rice, which makes a big difference. But after she had a stroke nobody could remember what all went in it. This is it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States