Chicken Spectacular Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This was delicious. I bought Uncle Ben's wild rice in a box, and used the seasoning packet. I followed the cooking time and amount of water specified on the rice box. For convenience, I bought Louis Rich "oven style" cooked chicken breast. It's already cooked and cubed, and I just had to measure it out. Expensive way to do it, but great if you're short on time, and it's delicious chicken. I made this dish for someone who doesn't care for water chestnuts, but they are chopped small, so it's the crunchiness that stands out, not the taste. They really added to the dish, and I would not omit them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
WOW! Very good! SOOOOO much work though! But if you have the time..... it is all worth it! Our dinner guests 2 months ago are still bringing these up! Thanks for the recipe Gerry! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This was awesome! It was a huge hit with my husband. You can even replace the cream of celery with cream of chicken if you don't like the taste of celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY73ANDERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was a very good recipe. However, based on the reviews, and the ingredients that I had on hand, I did make changes as well. I used a long grain and wild rice mix, with all the seasonings, and substituted the green beans with mushrooms. Also, I sauted the onions and some chopped celery in a bit of margarine for just a short time before adding to the mix. (They were still a little crunchy). And I left out the water chestnuts because I don't like them. It was very good, except next time, I'm going to cut back on the mayo just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
How aptly named, Jodi! This truly is spectacular. I didn't need to change a thing. Its flavorful and the presentation is very pretty on a plate. It would be wonderful for a ladies luncheon. My family loved this, and I will be making it often! My experimental nature would like to try a bit of garlic powder in this dish with some toasted sliced almonds to garnish the top of each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is a wonderfully easy and tasty recipe! Maybe something is weird with me but I doubled the amount of rice required, added mushrooms and celery instead of the green beans and added 1/2cup shredded cheddar cheese and this barely fed all of us...and I don't consider us BIG eaters or nothing. (maybe I didn't use enough chicken...I just used 5 chicken breasts cubed). Also, I used miracle whip instead of mayo, which added zip. Either way, great recipe and I will make this again! Thanks so much Jodi!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
THANK YOU!!! I have been looking for this recepi for years. My mother made the same thing but with CURRIED rice, which makes a big difference. But after she had a stroke nobody could remember what all went in it. This is it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
my whole family loved it.easy to make and fast too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
loved the crunchy water chestnuts. i did use 6 oz plain white rice and 6oz wild rice (which i couldn't find in a plain bag, so i used uncle bens and used a little of the seasoning that came with it). it made a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
This was terrific. I did make some changes though. I omitted green beans, but added mushrooms, about a 1/4 tsp of curry, some white rice with the wild rice, and some chopped celery (just one stalk). This was the best casserole I have ever had! Even my kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Araki
Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States