Chicken Spectacular Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe was delicious! Here are the modifications I made: To reduce prep time in order to make this a quicker "after-work" meal, I used parboiled white rice as opposed to wild rice. I think the recipe would be better with wild rice, so I will definitely make it that way next time. I sauteed the cubed chicken with a little garlic and celery salt, which gave it a nice flavor. I also substituted canned mushrooms in place of the pimentos (neither my husband nor I are big pimento fans), and I'm glad I made this substitution - it was great. I also used one can of wax beans and one can of green beans instead of 2 cans of green beans just for the color difference. I will definitely make this recipe again - there is a lot of room to tailor it to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Tasted ok. Not something that I would make on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Ever sooo goood!I omit the chestnuts.I boil chicken and I add a 1/2 cup of chicken broth and a 1/2 cup of mild cheddar cheese to mixture before baking.I also sprinkle a small amout of cheese on top of this dish after I take it out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
My mom used to make this YEARS ago, and I finally found the recipe! Now I make it for her and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Very good - the mayo gives a flavor I am not used to in casserole, but a very good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Great recipe! I've been making this for years & finally decided I needed to review it. I have made the recipe exactly as described - and it's quite good. BUT, here are the changes I now make after some tweaking: (1) I use cooked onion (or dried minced if I'm lazy) as I don't care for raw/slightly cooked onions; (2) I use a box of wild rice mix (including spice pack) prepared as directed on box & forego the wild rice/water in recipe; (3) I top with shredded medium or sharp cheddar - everything's better with cheese! Yum, yum, yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
love it, it's good with or without the water chestnuts (I like them DH doesn't) they are just there for texture. We've made this twice and it's definately a "must Have" in your dinner menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
This is a great quick and easy recipe. The seasoned rice is a great idea. I've also used both frozen and canned green beans and they both came out good. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This was very good. The whole family liked it. It's a much heartier, tastier version of the regular green bean casserole. I used cream of mushroom cause I didn't have cream of celery on hand and I left out the water chestnuts because I have a personal dislike for them. I also only used about 1/4 cup of mayo instead of a whole cup. Next time I might add slivered almonds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I looked at others comments before trying this and so I used uncle ben's wild rice with all the spices, mixed light miracle whip and light mayo and added some fried onions on top. YUM I went back for seconds, I never do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States