Chicken Spectacular Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I've been making almost the exact same recipe for years and it is delicious! My only suggestions are to use 2 Tbsp. minced onions if you don't want to deal with crunchy onions and to use Uncle Ben's wild rice with the original seasonings. Also, my Mom's secret, which I think makes this recipe go from very good to spectacular, is to cook the wild rice in chicken broth instead of water. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Incredible!! Perfect comfort-food dish for our weather here in MN. My husband loved it!! I did make a few adjustments, but didn't stray too far from the original recipe. I added 1 cup chopped mushrooms and used 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream instead of 1 cup mayo, 1 (chopped) celery stalk, and topped with french-fried onions. I also used a wild rice / long grain white rice mix instead of all wild rice. This was absolutely delicious and will definitely be a frequent dish in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! It is a regular in our house. It is also the same recipe for Paula Deen's chicken and rice casserole on the food network website. The only difference is she adds cheese to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Not as spectacular as I had hoped. It wasn't bad, just...average. My husband ate it and quite liked it, but I thought it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This was indeed spectacular! I made only two changes. I didn't have cream of celery soup, so I used cream of mushroom. Also, I thought the casserole looked a little plain on its way into the oven, so I put on a crumb/butter topping. It was fantasic and I'll make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Great comfort food recipe. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is a great, slightly different chicken casserole. The water chestnuts add a nice texture, and the pimentos make this casserole very attractive. My whole family enjoys this, and it even freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This recipe was delicious! Here are the modifications I made: To reduce prep time in order to make this a quicker "after-work" meal, I used parboiled white rice as opposed to wild rice. I think the recipe would be better with wild rice, so I will definitely make it that way next time. I sauteed the cubed chicken with a little garlic and celery salt, which gave it a nice flavor. I also substituted canned mushrooms in place of the pimentos (neither my husband nor I are big pimento fans), and I'm glad I made this substitution - it was great. I also used one can of wax beans and one can of green beans instead of 2 cans of green beans just for the color difference. I will definitely make this recipe again - there is a lot of room to tailor it to your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyn Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Tasted ok. Not something that I would make on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Ever sooo goood!I omit the chestnuts.I boil chicken and I add a 1/2 cup of chicken broth and a 1/2 cup of mild cheddar cheese to mixture before baking.I also sprinkle a small amout of cheese on top of this dish after I take it out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States