Chicken Spectacular Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Someone made this for an office luncheon recently & there were so many requests for the recipe they printed it out for everyone. It really was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
VERY GOOD RECIPE. DID NOT HAVE PAMENTOS, OR WATER CHESTNUTS ON HAND AND IT WAS STILL VERY GOOD. I DID SPRINKLE THE TOP WITH BREAD CRUMBS WHICH GAVE IT SOME TEXTURE. MY FAMILY SAID THIS ONE WAS A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This was very tasty! And due to the fact that I subbed Uncle Bens quick cook wild rice & a rotiseerie chicken, it took no time at all! Next time I may use less onion, or sautee them a bit first. Probably will use a little less mayo too. We all enjoyed this and it was a very hearty meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I've been making almost the exact same recipe for years and it is delicious! My only suggestions are to use 2 Tbsp. minced onions if you don't want to deal with crunchy onions and to use Uncle Ben's wild rice with the original seasonings. Also, my Mom's secret, which I think makes this recipe go from very good to spectacular, is to cook the wild rice in chicken broth instead of water. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Incredible!! Perfect comfort-food dish for our weather here in MN. My husband loved it!! I did make a few adjustments, but didn't stray too far from the original recipe. I added 1 cup chopped mushrooms and used 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream instead of 1 cup mayo, 1 (chopped) celery stalk, and topped with french-fried onions. I also used a wild rice / long grain white rice mix instead of all wild rice. This was absolutely delicious and will definitely be a frequent dish in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This is an excellent recipe! It is a regular in our house. It is also the same recipe for Paula Deen's chicken and rice casserole on the food network website. The only difference is she adds cheese to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Not as spectacular as I had hoped. It wasn't bad, just...average. My husband ate it and quite liked it, but I thought it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This was indeed spectacular! I made only two changes. I didn't have cream of celery soup, so I used cream of mushroom. Also, I thought the casserole looked a little plain on its way into the oven, so I put on a crumb/butter topping. It was fantasic and I'll make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Great comfort food recipe. Freezes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is a great, slightly different chicken casserole. The water chestnuts add a nice texture, and the pimentos make this casserole very attractive. My whole family enjoys this, and it even freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States