Chicken Spaghetti Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
After reading the other reviews, I changed a few things. Instead of boiling your onions and celery in chicken broth, I sautéed them in ¼ stick of butter with salt and pepper. I also added half of a bell pepper for a little extra flavor. Alsoto add a little more flavor, instead of 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, I used 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can of cream of chicken. I also added about half of a can of milk. I mixed the onions, bell pepper, and celery with the cream of mushroom soup and the cream of chicken soup. I also added salt and pepper to taste. I choose not to add the mushrooms. Everyone really enjoyed these changes but I have to agree it is a lot of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
This recipe is really the best chicken casserole I have ever had. All the ladies at church have been sharing this recipe since it was a huge hit at a gathering recently. My husband had 3 helpings! Well worth the bit of time to cook the chicken and broth, but you could use some chicken breasts and a couple of cans of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
After mixing everything together I tasted the sauce and it was definitely bland to my taste. I added 1/2 teaspoon of garlic salt, 1/4 teaspoon of garlic pepper, 1/2 teaspoon of salt-free Cavender's Greek seasoning, and 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoon of poultry seasoning. That seemed to fix it. I used Velveeta cheese and just melted it in the pan and didn't bother to cook it in the oven like a casserole. We just filled our plates from the pan and served it with crescent rolls and a salad. I did have to add a bit more broth to thin it down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
When I first made this, I didn't have parsley. It was bland and a little dry, after baking. I revamped the recipe. With the left over broth, I added two tablespoons of chicken bullion. Plus basil instead of parsely, and some garlic salt. I doubled the onions, celery and chicken broth (2 cups of broth). Canned chicken works just fine! I also substituted egg noodles for the spaghetti. I can't believe how much better it tastes now. I hope others will try it. You might be surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftygal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
This was a good recipe but a little bland. I used fresh mushrooms but it also requires some garlic, herbs and/or seasonings to give it more 'oomph'. A good recipe to make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
This was a great recipe, and it made so much, it fed my husband and I all week! I substituted the 8 oz of shredded cheddar for 16 oz of Velveeta, and it was great! Very econmical meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsluton
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
We did not like this recipe. It made enough for a crowd, but was very bland and very dry. It needed a whole lot of something to make it better. I ate it a leftovers for lunch the entire week (because my husband would let the enitre pan go to waste despite how bad it was) with the help of plain yogurt & more cheese to attempt to moisten it up. Will not ever make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBURDICK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Have made this several times - keeps well, freezes well and the guys love it. Great to make and reheat for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
My husband LOVED this recipe...it is so creamy and yummy... definate comfort food!! I don't shred my chicken though, I cube it, and I add a little green pepper to the water as it boils. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
We enjoyed this - and it's a good thing, because it made a lot! (Even though I halved the recipe, we've had it for 2 meals, and I still have a little bit in the fridge!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States