Chicken Spaghetti Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I never made chicken spaghetti before so I researched a lot of recipes on this site and elsewhere. This recipe is the one I kept coming back to...BUT here's how I ended up making Chicken Spaghetti: Boil 2 split breasts with water, carrots, onions, celery, garlic, bay leaf, salt & pepper. Remove the breasts, strain & de-fat the broth. Ladle about a cup of broth into a bowl; set aside. Pour the rest of the broth back into pot & set aside. Skin and debone the breasts when they're cool enough to handle. Chop the meat into bite size pieces; set aside. Bring the broth (and more water if needed) to a boil & cook the pasta per pkg. directions. Return drained, rinsed pasta to pot; set aside. Saute 1 c. each chopped onions and bell peppers in 1 - 2 T. butter till soft. Add 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 can mild Rotel tomatoes, 2 c. shredded Cheddar & Monterey Jack cheese, season to taste with garlic powder, salt, & pepper. If consistancy is too thick add some of the reserved broth. Stir in the chopped chicken. Pour mixture over pasta and stir till well blended. Transfer all to a casserole dish, bake in preheated 350 degree oven 10 to 15 minutes, sprinkle with shredded cheese, and continue baking 15 more minutes or till bubbly. Note: 1 spilt breast yields about 1-1/2 c. of chopped meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This was fantastic! I did make the following adjustments: I used cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom, and I used chicken broth instead of the wine. Super easy, makes lots, and improves with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
My family enjoyed this casserole. I did have to make a few changes to suit our needs though. I used cream chicken soup instead of mushroom, a can of drained rotel tomatoes since I was out of bell pepper, and substituted chicken broth for the wine. It came out really good! The tomatoes added good color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
June2008- I made this recipe again today... but didn't have any white wine or whiskey so I thought I would try the chicken broth (as suggested by others). I have to tell you.... it was a disappointment. If you haven't tried whiskey is this dish... you are missing an extra star! It is FABULOUS!! Be brave! Give it a try!!! I had to make adjustments based on what I had in the kitchen. Only used green peppers, substituted onion flakes and used whiskey instead of white wine (as suggested by another reviewer). Plus I did add the garlic powder to spice it up...... garlic in everything I say!! All in all, my husband and I had never had spaghetti and chicken before, but LOVED IT and have found a new way to enjoy spaghetti!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Leona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made this again tonight and it was still WONDERFUL!! I used a whole bell pepper and sauted it and a clove of minced garlic in 2 T. Archer Farms (Target) Roasted Garlic and Herb EVOO just for extra flavor for a few minutes while the spaghetti noodles were cooking. I omited the onion since hubby doesn't like onion and used two cans of cream of mushroom soup from the other reviewers. I'm glad I used two cans because other wise I think it would have been too dry. Instead of the 1/4 c white wine I used 1/2 c chicken broth just to have a little more liquid. I also boiled the chicken breasts for 30 minutes, took them out and added the spaghetti to the "chicken water" so it would give it more flavor too. I baked it covered for the first amount of time and uncovered once I put the cheese on top. I will defiantely make this again! Thank you for the recipe and the other reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This is really good. This dish is also a favorite..but of the women in my family...hahaha!! We added mushrooms (which I don't care for)but did that for the sake of others. And I prefer chicken broth over white wine. When we have large get-togethers we like to make a big batch of chicken spaghetti and a batch of regular spaghetti (for those die-hard red sauce people). There's usually not much chicken spaghetti left after the evening is over. Great Job Marty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
This has become our favorite recipe. It's SO good and makes great leftovers. Everyone I make it for loves it. I always saute the onion and bell pepper to soften them before mixing with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
it was great but, a little dry i used 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and chicken broth instead of wine it was good and creamy. i will fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Update 1/30/12: I have made this several times & have started adding 1/2 a can of white wine & 1/2 a can of milk. It gives it great flavor!! This was a great start for the recipe. I boiled chicken tenders in water & 1 chicken bouillion cube & diced them. I substituted a can of original Rotel in place of the onion, bell pepper and pimento. I also used 1/2 cup of chicken broth in place of the white wine. I added diced black olives for color and they added a great flavor! Very creamy & flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Very good. I added a small can of mushrooms and used a mixture of cheddar cheese and american cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States