Chicken Spaghetti Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I never made chicken spaghetti before so I researched a lot of recipes on this site and elsewhere. This recipe is the one I kept coming back to...BUT here's how I ended up making Chicken Spaghetti: Boil 2 split breasts with water, carrots, onions, celery, garlic, bay leaf, salt & pepper. Remove the breasts, strain & de-fat the broth. Ladle about a cup of broth into a bowl; set aside. Pour the rest of the broth back into pot & set aside. Skin and debone the breasts when they're cool enough to handle. Chop the meat into bite size pieces; set aside. Bring the broth (and more water if needed) to a boil & cook the pasta per pkg. directions. Return drained, rinsed pasta to pot; set aside. Saute 1 c. each chopped onions and bell peppers in 1 - 2 T. butter till soft. Add 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 can mild Rotel tomatoes, 2 c. shredded Cheddar & Monterey Jack cheese, season to taste with garlic powder, salt, & pepper. If consistancy is too thick add some of the reserved broth. Stir in the chopped chicken. Pour mixture over pasta and stir till well blended. Transfer all to a casserole dish, bake in preheated 350 degree oven 10 to 15 minutes, sprinkle with shredded cheese, and continue baking 15 more minutes or till bubbly. Note: 1 spilt breast yields about 1-1/2 c. of chopped meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This was fantastic! I did make the following adjustments: I used cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom, and I used chicken broth instead of the wine. Super easy, makes lots, and improves with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
My family enjoyed this casserole. I did have to make a few changes to suit our needs though. I used cream chicken soup instead of mushroom, a can of drained rotel tomatoes since I was out of bell pepper, and substituted chicken broth for the wine. It came out really good! The tomatoes added good color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
June2008- I made this recipe again today... but didn't have any white wine or whiskey so I thought I would try the chicken broth (as suggested by others). I have to tell you.... it was a disappointment. If you haven't tried whiskey is this dish... you are missing an extra star! It is FABULOUS!! Be brave! Give it a try!!! I had to make adjustments based on what I had in the kitchen. Only used green peppers, substituted onion flakes and used whiskey instead of white wine (as suggested by another reviewer). Plus I did add the garlic powder to spice it up...... garlic in everything I say!! All in all, my husband and I had never had spaghetti and chicken before, but LOVED IT and have found a new way to enjoy spaghetti!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Leona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made this again tonight and it was still WONDERFUL!! I used a whole bell pepper and sauted it and a clove of minced garlic in 2 T. Archer Farms (Target) Roasted Garlic and Herb EVOO just for extra flavor for a few minutes while the spaghetti noodles were cooking. I omited the onion since hubby doesn't like onion and used two cans of cream of mushroom soup from the other reviewers. I'm glad I used two cans because other wise I think it would have been too dry. Instead of the 1/4 c white wine I used 1/2 c chicken broth just to have a little more liquid. I also boiled the chicken breasts for 30 minutes, took them out and added the spaghetti to the "chicken water" so it would give it more flavor too. I baked it covered for the first amount of time and uncovered once I put the cheese on top. I will defiantely make this again! Thank you for the recipe and the other reviewers suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This is really good. This dish is also a favorite..but of the women in my family...hahaha!! We added mushrooms (which I don't care for)but did that for the sake of others. And I prefer chicken broth over white wine. When we have large get-togethers we like to make a big batch of chicken spaghetti and a batch of regular spaghetti (for those die-hard red sauce people). There's usually not much chicken spaghetti left after the evening is over. Great Job Marty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
This has become our favorite recipe. It's SO good and makes great leftovers. Everyone I make it for loves it. I always saute the onion and bell pepper to soften them before mixing with the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Update 1/30/12: I have made this several times & have started adding 1/2 a can of white wine & 1/2 a can of milk. It gives it great flavor!! This was a great start for the recipe. I boiled chicken tenders in water & 1 chicken bouillion cube & diced them. I substituted a can of original Rotel in place of the onion, bell pepper and pimento. I also used 1/2 cup of chicken broth in place of the white wine. I added diced black olives for color and they added a great flavor! Very creamy & flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
it was great but, a little dry i used 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and chicken broth instead of wine it was good and creamy. i will fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Very good. I added a small can of mushrooms and used a mixture of cheddar cheese and american cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States