Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was very, very good, but I did make some changes. I prepared the marinade exactly as written, but I marinated the chicken pieces for about 5 hours, which was perfect. The tzatziki sauce I had to alter: I substituted lemon juice for the vinegar and added a teaspoon of dried dill weed. I served this as sandwiches, with pita warmed on the grill, sliced red onion and tomatoes. Completely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe was amazing! We rarely please all three of our picky children with any recipe, but this one was loved by all. We marinated and grilled not only chicken, but pork, salmon, zucchini and yellow squash. Everything was absolutely yummy in every way. The addition of the tzatziki sauce was like the icing on the cake. We made a slight change of the addition of a touch of fresh mint in the tzatziki, and it was amazing. I'm a person who likes to know why you do what you do in recipes sometimes. My husband informed me that letting the tzatziki sauce chill for at least an hour after making helps the vinegar in the sauce break down the other ingredients so that they can combine. I'm glad to know this, because I will never rush a tzatziki again. The sauce was so simple and delicious, as was the marinate. Thanks so much for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I live in Minnesota so I will not be able to dig out my grill until May. I decided to cook the chicken on the George Foreman grill. It turned out wonderful. I made a few minor changes in the Tzatziki sauce. I used a good Greek yogurt but wanted it extra thick so I strained it through a coffee filter. After grating the cucumber I put it in a strainer with a hefty pinch of salt and let the water come out. I then put it on paper towels and squeezed out any remaining liquid. Instead of vinegar I used fresh lemon juice as the acid. I added 1/2 teaspoonful of dill weed and a small amount of fresh mint. I believe Tzatziki sauce would be good on a flip-flop. Thanks, Bakermom. This is a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I put in about three cloves of garlic and like to use malt vinegar rather than white vinegar and about table spoon. It gives it that extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
4 stars for the marinade. Followed the marinade recipe exactly, and the chicken was good, but next time I will probably increase the lemon juice and oregano for our tastes. We would have liked a little more intense lemon and oregano flavor, so increasing those two things and maybe adding some lemon zest along with the juice would do the trick, but as written was still very enjoyable. Tzatziki sauce as written not so good, so only 3 stars. A little bland tasting with a strange mouth feel. So, I did take some reviewers advice and altered it slightly by using lemon juice in place of white vinegar, a pinch or two of both dried dill weed and sugar, and an extra tbsp of olive oil to give it a more creamy consistency. Lastly, after grating the cucumber, spread it on several sheets of paper towel, lightly salt and let sit for about 15 mins to allow all the moisture to be drawn out of the cucumber. Then dry thoroughly with more paper towels before adding to tzatziki. Doing this will prevent your tzatziki sauce from becoming overly watery. I've tried making tzatziki several times and with the adjustments this was my best attempt by far. I think the pinch of sugar to cut the bitterness of the yogurt and the additional olive oil to give it a better mouth feel were key. Thanks to the original poster of the recipe and all the other cooks out there who wrote reviews and added suggestions. I love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This turned out amazing. Since I live in rural Japan, I don't have access to Greek yogurt so I just used plain yogurt and added some lemon juice and white pepper to it (taken from another recipe) and it tastes almost as good as actual tzatziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
This is good. BUT....It is imperative that you let the cucumber drain well before mixing into the yogurt. I even squeeze it to remove even more liquid. You will be amazed at how much there is! It keeps the tzatziki from being so thin and also concentrates the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I've made this at least 3 times already and we love it. I marinate the chicken all day - at least 6 hours. In the sauce I like to add extra cloves of garlic. Very good and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
For my taste, I would double the lemon juice and garlic and oregano as I like really bold flavors. Also, the lemon juice helps tenderize the chicken. I also let it marinade over night so the lemon juice has time to do its job and the flavors really penetrate. For the sauce, I would add a step, after grating the seeded cucumber wrap in a paper towel and give it a good squeeze to draw out the extra moisture. If not it will leach into the yogurt making it a watery mess. I also prefer lemon juice to white vinegar but i saw where someone recommended malt vinegar, i may give that a try. And most importantly you need to add a good teaspoon of dried dill weed or mint. I prefer dill. Finally warm a pita or any middle eastern/ indian flat bread by brushing it very lightly with good olive oil and placing it on flat griddle or heavy skillet for a few seconds and servce with a big greek salad with lots of tomatos, cucumbers, black olives, feta cheese etc. and you have a summer barbeque feast sure to make you forget about hambergers and hot dogs with chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Loved it! I Marinated the chicken overnight. The sauce was easy to make. I added veggie kebabs and couscous which only added a few minutes to the cooking time. A complete meal on a budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States