Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I did not make the chicken from this recipe, but I did make a variation of the tzatziki sauce. Although this recipe did make a decent base for the sauce, I did change some things and it tasted pretty close to the sauce I've had in Greek restaurants. I added about 1 tsp. of lemon juice and about 1 tsp. of fresh oregano. I also had a dried spice blend on hand that contained shallots, onion, garlic, lemon peel, chives, and orange peel. I added about 1/4 tsp. of this and it really gave it the boost it needed. I personally do not like greek yogurt so I substituted the same amount of light sour cream instead and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
So good and easy. We followed the recipe exactly and will make it again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
This is really delicious, I let my chicken marinate overnight. I made changes to the sauce: After shredding the cucumber I salted it lightly and then squeezed out the extra moisture through a few coffee filters. I also used lime juice instead of the vinegar, doubled the garlic and added fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chetvw007
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I followed the directions to the original posters suggestion....it's awesome!!! Change nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chetvw007

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was very good. The Tzatziki was a lovely cool contrast to the chicken. I did add mint to the sauce and a pinch of taragon to the chicken marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
4 stars for the marinade. Followed the marinade recipe exactly, and the chicken was good, but next time I will probably increase the lemon juice and oregano for our tastes. We would have liked a little more intense lemon and oregano flavor, so increasing those two things and maybe adding some lemon zest along with the juice would do the trick, but as written was still very enjoyable. Tzatziki sauce as written not so good, so only 3 stars. A little bland tasting with a strange mouth feel. So, I did take some reviewers advice and altered it slightly by using lemon juice in place of white vinegar, a pinch or two of both dried dill weed and sugar, and an extra tbsp of olive oil to give it a more creamy consistency. Lastly, after grating the cucumber, spread it on several sheets of paper towel, lightly salt and let sit for about 15 mins to allow all the moisture to be drawn out of the cucumber. Then dry thoroughly with more paper towels before adding to tzatziki. Doing this will prevent your tzatziki sauce from becoming overly watery. I've tried making tzatziki several times and with the adjustments this was my best attempt by far. I think the pinch of sugar to cut the bitterness of the yogurt and the additional olive oil to give it a better mouth feel were key. Thanks to the original poster of the recipe and all the other cooks out there who wrote reviews and added suggestions. I love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harkers Island, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very good. Hubby wanted extra garlic in the sauce. Loved the chicken itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Everyone loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Marinated overnight - EASY and DELICIOUS! My husband is a very candid food critic and as far as chicken goes, he likes thighs. Period. But, we are trying to lose weight and eat healthier. I couldn't believe it when he said he LOVED it!!! I think I'm still shocked. DEFINITELY use high quality greek yogurt. Bought a cheaper brand and threw out the first batch of sauce. Much better with Chobani. If Yoplait made plain greek yogurt in large tubs, I'd buy theirs. The cheaper brand had a "powdery" texture. Yoplait has VERY creamy texture but I can't find the plain in a large container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
We all loved this. The sauce is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States