Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This turned out amazing. Since I live in rural Japan, I don't have access to Greek yogurt so I just used plain yogurt and added some lemon juice and white pepper to it (taken from another recipe) and it tastes almost as good as actual tzatziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is very, very close to how I make this dish. I use a Greek spice blend rather than just oregano, and I drain my cucumber well before adding to the yogurt. I also add a bit of fresh dill to my tzatziki. We love these. They are soooo good served on warm flatbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I use a greek seasoning as well. I like a little more vinegar in the marinade... Also, soak the skewers in water for an hour or two and they wont catch fire as easy on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was very, very good, but I did make some changes. I prepared the marinade exactly as written, but I marinated the chicken pieces for about 5 hours, which was perfect. The tzatziki sauce I had to alter: I substituted lemon juice for the vinegar and added a teaspoon of dried dill weed. I served this as sandwiches, with pita warmed on the grill, sliced red onion and tomatoes. Completely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
this recipe was delicious!! very easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
It was a great starter to a great meal. We accompanied the meal with whole wheat pita bread. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
sooo delish!! i added mint leaves (chopped finely) to the sauce and it was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
We LOVED this! I marinated the chicken for a full day before cooking, which really gave it a lot of flavor. Also, I added a bit of fresh mint from the garden to the sauce, which took it over the top...a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by mommasangelbaby
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe was amazing! We rarely please all three of our picky children with any recipe, but this one was loved by all. We marinated and grilled not only chicken, but pork, salmon, zucchini and yellow squash. Everything was absolutely yummy in every way. The addition of the tzatziki sauce was like the icing on the cake. We made a slight change of the addition of a touch of fresh mint in the tzatziki, and it was amazing. I'm a person who likes to know why you do what you do in recipes sometimes. My husband informed me that letting the tzatziki sauce chill for at least an hour after making helps the vinegar in the sauce break down the other ingredients so that they can combine. I'm glad to know this, because I will never rush a tzatziki again. The sauce was so simple and delicious, as was the marinate. Thanks so much for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommasangelbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe!! I changed nothing and couldn't think of anything that I would change here! OK yes, I'd made more next time!! The chicken was tender and delicious... the tzatziki sauce was perfect!! It'd been awhile since I'd had some and that was in a restaurant. I tasted it and I'm sure it was better than that. Since I was BBQ'ing anyway, I threw some tomatoes on (whole) and served it over white rice. Right now I'm wishing I had some leftovers of that!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States