Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Outstanding flavor and just like my Greek neighbors made in Chicago! Tzatziki saucs was a perfect celebration for my garden's 1st cuke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Ryan, Caitlyn, and I really liked this chicken. Brianna and Matthew...no. However, I think it will be better next time. The skewers didn't work well and the chicken wouldn't turn so that we could get good grill marks, so Ryan ended up sliding all the chicken back off the skewers and pan fried the chicken. It ended up more steamed/sauted than grilled. Next time use wider strips of chicken and then try to grill. Bet it will be much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is now our go-to chicken marinade (with or without the tzatziki sauce!). It's so light and fresh. Had it a half dozen times in the past few months. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This is for all intents a good and easy recipe, and there are many worthy suggestions in the Remarks from obviously qualifies kitchen mavens. But aside from looking most features of this recipe, I can add just a few notes that will hopefully find root with some of you. One item: I notice that in all the reviews, not a single mention of a Greek spice called Cavender's that is incredibly versatile and a true staple for meats, veggies of all kinds -but especially for Greek-inspired dishes such as souvlaki. Try adding at least a teaspoon to your meat as your marinate it... and even sprinkle a little on during the cooking. Also (2) I enthusiastically echo the suggestion of another contributor who suggested using thigh meat in lieu of breast meat. It's much moister and noticeably richer in flavor. Because of the way the thighs are butchered, they take just a little more creativity to set up on the skewers, but the results are gratifying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Very tasty! I didn't change a thing. The marinade really is fabulous. I didn't feel like grilling and these were still delicious in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I have made this twice and followed the directions exactly. The first time was better,the chx was def more flavorful. The only difference was the first time I used chicken tenders and I cooked them on the George Forman grill. The second time I used chx breast and used the outdoor grill. I marinated them for about the same time. The recipe is very tasty and my husband liked it very much. I put the chx in pita's with lettuce ,tom, diced cukes and the sauce. The sauce was ok, I took the advise of draining the heck out of the cucumbers. The sauce was not runny at all.I did add dill to this. My husband liked the sauce better than I did. I did not add as much vinegar but it still had that strong taste. I would probably make this again as the chx was pretty good. the sauce only so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Fabulous, easy and delicious. Even better with 2X the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I didn't find the meat to be flavorful, it was good and juicy, we did grill it. The cucumber sauce (Tzatiki sauce) needed more cucumber and the tartness of the greek yogurt was still more than we cared for. I served it over romaine lettuce dressed with fresh veggies and pickled olives and peppers to give it a flavor boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Capra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! I've made it twice and added an extra garlic clove to the marinade and also the sauce. As others suggested, I added a little fresh dill, chopped mint and 1/2 tsp. sugar to the sauce. I served it in pita bread with the sauce, onion and tomato. It's now one of my favorite recipes, as well as being one of the easiest. It was just as good broiled as it was on the grill, maybe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Not only is this recipe easy to make, it is delicious and healthy!! It takes a little planning to let the chicken marinade and the sauce flavors come together but it is absolutely worth it! (And I also let it marinade all day as some other reviewers mention). Chicken is juicy and flavorful, and oh the sauce! My boys and I were practically licking the sauce from our plates. Thank you for a great recipe - we will use the over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States