Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
We made it on a hot day and it was great! The marinade and cucumber sauce are awesome and I didn't have to heat up the kitchen. I grilled the chicken outside. We also enjoyed the chicken cold the next day as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Awesome, easy marinade. Instead of making gyros, I cut whole wheat pita rounds in wedges after briefly grilling them, and we ate them with the Tzatziki sauce. My family devoured the sauce, and I will double it next time. I am Greek and love Greek food, so thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Five stars- this was soooo good! I even had to leave some stuff out, and it was still outstanding. I didn't realize I was out of garlic (that has never happened before, seriously!) so I had to just use garlic powder. I'm pregnant and there's conflicting advice about eating feta while pg, so I left that off. I had to use regular black olives, and didn't have the red onion. Even with all of that, these still were so good. Oh, our grill ran out of gas half-way through cooking too, so I had to finish the chicken up on the stove. Still good! I used whole wheat pitas, low-fat yogurt and light sour cream. I love the cucumber sauce. This recipe is great, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was a really great summer recipe. I warmed the pita bread on the grill slightly (it gets crispy quickly). Spend the extra dollar or two for the good pita bread. It makes ALL the difference. I served the pepperoncini whole, on the side. I have made this several times and have begun to use balsamic vinegrette in place of the dressing, and "Just 2 Good" Italian dressing as a marinade. I also used tin foil to hold the taco-like shape of the pita bread. This keeps it warm too. Perhaps the best tip I have is to use strained yogurt -- I found greek yogurt at the local specialty foods shop, but it might be available at Whole Foods / Wild Oats. Also, I just cubed the cucumbers b/c I like the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol Whittington-Washington
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
We ate this for three days straight! I doubled the recipe for lots of leftovers. I can't believe how easy it is to make authentic cucumber sauce! No more running to the sub shop for gyros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Whittington-Washington

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Randallstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Excellent recipe! The chicken marinade was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Very authentic greek flavour! Love it and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Great recipe. Very easey to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
So great! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I'm not really sure how chicken souvlaki should taste, but I do know that this recipe does make tasty chicken. I added some onion slices to the marinade. I was also in a hurry so ended up stir frying the chicken in a wok, and it still came out great. Served this with tzatziki sauce and pita bread. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States