Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
We loved this recipe! It's a Friday night tradition for my husband and I to go to our favorite Greek joint and have gyros, but freezing temps this evening so I decided to make these at home. Delicious! The sauce was excellent, I would recommend adding more lemon, greek seasoning, and dill. I doubled the garlic as well. I used 2/3 cup balsamic and 1/3 cup olive oil in place of the vinegrette. No grilling tonight, so I baked the chicken with some marinade for 45 minutes at 350 degrees. Perfect! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Excellent. I made this in the winter so we didn't use the grill. I broied the chicken 8 min on each side. I used light sour cream and nonfat yogurt and the Tzatziki turned out fantastic and healthy. My husband loved it, I loved it. Definitely buy thick, quality pita. My store was limited and the pita fell apart a bit, but it didn't take away from the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This had fantastic flavor and really hit spot. Reminded me of my husband and I's favorite college Pita haunt. As to the people confused by the recipe's chicken marinade make sure you are using a balsamic vinegrette as specified instead of straight balsamic vinegar, 2 TOTALLY different things. Vinegrette is a salad dressing made with equal parts or slightly more Olive Oil to balsamic in addition to garlic, herbs, etc.. The recipe is just fine as written! Thank you for the walk down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Poppy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyside, Washington, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This turned out great. I did tweak a few things- kinda without realizing it. (I printed the recipe and left it down stairs!) I used 2 good squirts of lemon juice. And 3 "shakes" of greek seasoning and omited the oregano. I also used a simpler and AWESOME tzatziki sauce... 1 cup plain yogurt, 2 T olive oil, 1 T lemon juice, 1/2 salt, 1/2 pepper, 1 T chopped fresh dill, 3-4 cloves of freshly grated garlic, 2 T finely shredded cucumber thats been dried with paper towels, 1-2 shakes of greek seasoning. Mix and sit for an hour to chill in fridge. The BEST combo around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! A little time consuming to make, but 100+++% worth the effort involved. If you prep these in stages, they're much more manageable to make. I quickly threw together my marinade / tzatziki sauce early this afternoon, so all I had to do at dinnertime was grill my chicken (on my indoor reversible grill). To all of you wanting to give this a try, I have a few tips to share. First, you MUST use balsamic vinaigrette (found in the salad dressings aisle of your grocer), DO NOT use straight-up balsamic vinegar! Vinaigrette contains spices & EVOO to help tame the tartness of the vinegar. Second, Greek yogurt is a FAR superior choice for this cucumber sauce. Tzatziki should be thick, not thin or watery. Unless you strain your yogurt, you will end up w/ runny sauce. Greek yogurt has already been strained. Yes, it's more expensive, but it's also more convenient. Finally, to ensure your cucumbers properly "sweat," toss them w/ salt (salt draws OUT water), & then do what reviewer MOLLE888 did - place in a colander / sieve set over a bowl w/ another bowl on top. Put a heavy can in the bowl to add some pressure & watch the liquid seep to the bottom! You will have PERFECT tzatziki every time (promise!). Served w/ red onion, tomatoes & iceberg lettuce (no pepperoncini or olives for us), these are a spot on copycat of our favorite local chain's Athenian chicken pitas! Seasoned curly fries completed our meal. Thanks for sharing, Chris! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I have made this twice and it was a huge it at our house. Don't be scared by all the ingredients. Cooking process is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
my husband lived in greece for two years and says that this recipe was the closest he's ever tasted to the real thing since he's been back in the usa. the sauce is the perfect consistency, however, he said he'd use more cucumber, less dill. i thought it was divine, i wanted to drink it it was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was a really great summer recipe. I warmed the pita bread on the grill slightly (it gets crispy quickly). Spend the extra dollar or two for the good pita bread. It makes ALL the difference. I served the pepperoncini whole, on the side. I have made this several times and have begun to use balsamic vinegrette in place of the dressing, and "Just 2 Good" Italian dressing as a marinade. I also used tin foil to hold the taco-like shape of the pita bread. This keeps it warm too. Perhaps the best tip I have is to use strained yogurt -- I found greek yogurt at the local specialty foods shop, but it might be available at Whole Foods / Wild Oats. Also, I just cubed the cucumbers b/c I like the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I usually only try recipes that have 4 1/2 or better stars. So I was really surprised when I tried this one. It wasn't at all what I excpected. The marinade was very sour. I felt bad talking my kids into eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. Way too much oregano for my liking and too much vinegar. I think I would add oil to the marinade and just a little oregano. The recipe also needed salt. I will try again, but will make some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States